Magnetic Island - Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up backed and checked out. My Ferry ride wasnt till 1:00. SO I hung out at the hostel for a while. Had breaky then sat and read and talked to some Israely chap with crosseyes (wasnt sure which eye I should be looking into). There are loads of Israely travelers over here. They all seem to come over after doing there 3 years mandatory Army stint.

Time came to catch the bus. So I did. It was ANZAC day today, Australian remeberance day. Unlike the remeberance day back home alot of people here use it as an excuse to where fake war medals and then get hammered. We picked up some of these people on the way to the ferry terminal, all suited and booted but highly lubricated.

Caught the ferry back to the main land then hung out in the termainl while I waited for the bus. Had lunch and watched an old war movie about the Desert Rats.

Got my final greyhound and made the 6 hour journey to Cairns with a short break for snacks.

Made it to Cairns at 8:30 in the evening, then made my way to the hostel. Struggled to find the damn thing. Quite well disguised as a travel agent and I must have walked past it about 3 times.

Finally got checked in. I was to be staying at the Global Palace and the nice thing about this place is that they dont have dorm beds (only normal single beds) and only three beds per room whci was a nice change.

Watched TV (24) then went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb