Cairns day 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
April 26th 2007
Published: April 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Had a great night sleep. Slept in late.

Went for a wonder around Cairns. Apart from the promenade by the water front and the man made lagoon, there isnt anything special about Cairns.

But wonder I did. In the sun it was incredibly hot (good preperation for Thailand.) Had lunch at the mall and then went to Quantas offices to book my ticket for Sydney.

By now it was a bit cooler and for some stupid reason I decided to go for a run down by the Promenade. Considering I hadnt done any exercise for a few months now I suprised far I was able to run. I guess walking all day and lugging that hugh backpack around seems to work as execrcise.

Got back and got myself showered.

Then went down to the Irish bar for my free dinner. Bumped into my dorm mate (Nick) and got talking about this and that.

Went back to the hostel and watch a bit of TV before going with Nick andd a friend of his to go and see some other friends of his preforming in an Irish bar.

It took us ages to get to this bar as it was miles further then Nick expected, plus my legs were alkready shot after the run. In fact it took so long and it was so far that Nicks friend gave up and headed back.

We finaly made it. It was areally swish Irish bar and there weren't many people in it. This just added to the intimate atmosphere. Nicks friend Fiona (irish obviously) was impressive to watch with her fiddle.
After that had all finished I got talking to old chap from around the corner. It was nice to finally talk to one of the locals, which is sometimes hard to do on the East coast as the vast majority of people you do bump into in bars are backpackers.

Later we got a lift back (thankfully) to the centre then went to the Wool house club. This was a good crack and partyed on till 4:00.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1006.3kb