Friday May 23rd-Day 91


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
May 23rd 2008
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was another day in Caloundra with Adrian. We needed to set up more framing so I met him at his shed in the morning. We put some panels on the back of the truck and then drove to a lumber yard to pick up the timber for the framing. From there we proceeded to the jobsite where Adrian had found another guy to work for the day with us. His name was Kyle and he was from Ireland along with 80% of the backpackers from Ireland. After we had the frame set up Adrian left the two of us to put the panels up and do all the other tasks to required to finish off the fence. The panels were very difficult to put on the frame because the owners had already planted trees right infront of the frame so we had to bend the panels around the trees to get them in adding the the scratches and scrapes up and down my arms. After that I had Kyle do all the tasks that he could do. During this we discussed Ireland and Canada. I learned I did not know much at all about Ireland. For example I assumed ireland was part of Britain which to them is the equivalent of a Canadian being asked if they are from America. It took about 20 minutes to describe the history between Ireland and the UK but it was very interesting to learn about. The owners of the house were also very nice offering us cordial and water along with mini cakes. The husband was celebrating his birthday and the wife had made extras so that we could have some. While we were eating the cakes and drinking the cordial/ water we sat down and talked to them. Turned out that they were from the Melbourne are and that they were moving up to Queensland to retire. The husband still works three days a week in Melbourne flying back and forth. This was a very nice paid break. After the food and drink Kyle finished up what he could and left at about 3:30. I stuck around doing tasks I had been trained on working until dark (5:30) I hadn't finished everything so after talking to Adrian I will be returning tomorrow to finish up the job. As I finished quite late I grabbed dinner watched a bit of tv/ checked my e-mail and went to sleep early again. I am going to try to go to work early tomorrow so that I will still have part of the day off.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0879s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb