Do you remeber my pet spider mum?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Toowong
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

When i first moved into the house, they was this little spider that had set up home in my garden. Once I had confirmed it wasn't a killer I decided to leave it where it was. honestly it was so small, just like a spider from home really, it just looked different. So anyway mum, Margaret and me went up to Mt Cootha (where the photo of the view of Brisbane was taken from in my last blog) and saw another of these spiders (apparently they are called Golden Orb's???). The problem was this spider was at least the size of my hand. So the very next day me and Margaret spent some time rehoming the spider in my garden, in fear that it would grow to a scary size. So the point of this story is, I was coming home at 3am this morning and wandered into the new home of the once small and cute spider. It seems to have decided it wants to come home, and trust me I am not arguing with it!!

So as you can see it has now grown into what is a fairly decent size, and I have the awful feeling it
Brisbane CBDBrisbane CBDBrisbane CBD

I work in one of these at floor 15
might just continue to grow. The worst thing about them (apart from their size) is that their web is like nylon, so if you walk into it you really do get caught up, and probably biten. And speaking of bitten, I think I have been biten by something with a large amount of posion. I have woken up this morning with these huge red lumps - the size of golf balls - which are really itchy, but as you have to pay to see the doc I have just going to have to put up with it. Whatever has bitten me obviuosly isnt a killer :-)

Right now the tales of wildlife are over I would like to say that life is again fab. The car is going to be fixed for $200 and I have a job in a Law Firm in the city. It is great. I get up at 7am - to the sunshine, have some breakfast in the garden - in the sunshine, travel to work on the city cat (which is a little boat type thing that travels up and down the river, far better than the bus or being stuck on the M62!!)
Marina and GraceMarina and GraceMarina and Grace

These two are my new pals - Marina is my housemate and Grace is from Ireland. They are both really fab, we are planning to loads of stuff, first off a houseboat on the Gold Coast :-)
- in the sunshine (i think you are catching my drift) and go to work on the 15th floor of one of the many high rise buildings in the city. I feel very important :-) I took a couple of photos from the city cat on my way home from work on Friday. The view is great.

I also now have some proper girl friends - so i feel a lot more settled. We are planning to go on a camping holiday soon, but the difference is you hire this home type thing that is anchored out at sea. We saw them in Cairns and they looked great fun. The little boat things have a flat roof where we can sunbathe all day, and then sit out on a night on the ocean, keeping a careful eye out for sharks :-)

We are off to Noosa tomorrow, which should hopefully be a great day at the beach, I might even try surfing - although I a pretty sure I will be really really bad at it :-)

anyways here are some more photos for you all

Advertisement



10th March 2007

Good luck with your job, well done. Don't like the picture of the spider much, I'd be getting rid. Mark went to Noosa, seen the photos of the homes you are talking about, bet it will be fun. Just been watching tv this morning, it has shown the new Wembley Stadium, it looks great.
13th March 2007

i wish you would stop putting up pictures of spiders, not my favourite of creatures. good luck with the job =] miss you lots. xxxx
22nd March 2007

Whats wrong with my new pet Hannah haha
I thought you would really like it - was thinking of sending it home for ya. Miss you too babe Love you xx

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb