Spending Time With My Niece in Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Spring Hill
September 17th 2014
Published: September 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I enjoy spending as much time as possible with my niece who lives in Brisbane. While I'm there with her, we try to do several of the activities that the area has to offer. From playground equipment to museums, there are numerous attractions that are ideal for children of all ages.




The Abbey Museum is a favorite place to go because of the hands on exhibits. Exhibits at the museum are educational on a level where even younger children can understand the concept. We like looking at the antiques from all around the world and the different time periods. The ceramics and glass artifacts are beautiful. There are also manuscripts and paintings from various countries. Not only are the exhibits set up for children, but there are programs that are offered through the year as well. The Cutie Curators Club is something fun for little girls, and my niece has enjoyed spending time on Thursday mornings with other girls her age. The club examines dinosaurs and animals from different ages.




One of my favorite things to do in Brisbane with my niece is to take her to the Australia Zoo. This is a large zoo that takes a few hours to walk through. However, there is a large selection of animals that you usually don't see in other zoos. We have watched the trainers feed snakes and crocodiles, and we have also seen how elephants are fed. There are about 1,000 animals in the zoo. Gift shops, snack stands and restaurants are scattered through the zoo.




The Brisbane Trainway Museum is a place we like to go when we want to visit somewhere that has a slower pace. Train cars are located outside and inside. We can walk through some of the train cars to see how they are operated and how much room is on each of the cars. My niece loves trains, so we try to go when I am in town. Tram rides are offered that take you slowly along the rails that go past the museum. Gifts are sold at the museum, and the volunteers are very friendly.




When the weather is nice, my niece and I like going to Springfield Lakes. The playground equipment here is state of the art. I know that when we go here, my niece will play on equipment that is not only fun but safe. One of the things I think is fascinating is that a great deal of the equipment is electric or has an electrical component. The equipment reminds me of being in a video game as there are lights on the slides and ladders. Bright circles adorn the mats of the playground so that children aren't playing on rocks or mulch and have a colorful area to play. This is a park that encourages children to play outside, something that I think should be more of with parks and children's activities. The digital platform is something that children can understand, making it a park that is rather different from those that have swings and slides.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb