Australia Day!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Southbank
January 26th 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Australia Day Celebrations!!Australia Day Celebrations!!Australia Day Celebrations!!

Australia Day Celebrations at Southbank, Brisbane!!
G'day yall, Happy Aussie Day...Mike dropped me off at Mitchelton Station so I could catch the train into the City Centre for the first time of my Brisbane experience. Having just missed the 11.37, I sat on the platform and quietly awaited the 12.07 to arrive. However, the temporary peace was subsequently shattered by a single airforce jet screeching across the sky...causing me to both duck and then wonder where the hell it went before the sonic boom arrived a few minutes later desperately trying to catch up!! Now suffering partial deafness, I boarded the train and journeyed into central Brisbane, in a way, I was actually relieved my hearing was out of whack when some foul mouthed indigenous people got on and started turning the air blue with comments about the effing Invaders. My first encounters on the City streets were kind of weird, first the Lipton Ice Tea Girls gave me a couple of bottles of their product to drink and then I was greeted by a 6ft purple ten pin bowling pin with a happy face!!! I think I must have been drugged up the road!!! Having had a small lunch in the Pig and Whistle, I made my way to the Cultural Centre on the South Bank where the majority of Australia Day events were being held and thus spent the entire afternoon and early evening taking in the sights and smells of the day...and a couple of cold VB's to boot!!! The party atmosphere was at its most buoyant at the Plough Pub where there was live music and people draped in capes and flags...Waltzing Matilda obviously went down well, so did '500 miles' by The Proclaimers (Gordon will be pleased!!!) I hopped onto the 345 bus back to Stafford and walked back to base...somehow finding it despite being not being entirely sure of my bearings...I wonder at times how I became a delivery driver all those years ago!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb