Moving on..


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Fortitude Valley
October 14th 2014
Published: October 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Believe it or not, I saw a whale! No wait, I saw whales! I was chilling on the beach with three friends I met at the hostel when suddenly one of them leaped up and yelled: "Hoooly sh*#t a whale!". There they were quite far away jumping high up leaving a massive splash behind when they hit the water. Even in that distance (approx. 1km) they seemed massive. People pay loads of money to see something like that and we saw them whilst sitting in the fine, white sand!
Other than that nothing too exciting was going on. On Saturday night there was a huge backpacker's night out as they called it. On that night all the backpackers hostels around that area go out to four of the nightclubs in Surfer's Paradise. There were about 150 people going..
And I met a Slovenian guy (studied physiotherapy) who made me do something against my guilt: I haven't been working out for a while and it bothered me a bit. In order to do something against my guilt I went for a beachside work-out session with him. Felt good to get my body moving again!

So at the moment I'm staying at a hostel in Brisbane till tonight(not spending the night). I left Surfer's Paradise this morning and because my flight to NZ tomorrow is at 6:30 am. I have to be there really early, so lucky me will have to spend the night at the airport. See how that turns out! Not even sure if it's legal but there's no other reasonable way, because the airport is quite a bit away from the city itself. But I got to smooch around in Brisbane today which I enjoyed thoroughly.
Brissie is quite lively in the centre, but there are also quiet places like parks. I like it a lot! Wouldn't have thought that because it seemed like a pretty big city from above and I'm generally not the city type. I might spend the week after my return from NZ here. Let's see : )

But now I'm looking forward to meeting one of my rugby friend's family! Spending a night or two in Auckland where they live. At present it looks like I'm going to look for a car to buy. I am so much more independent with a car, I can go whenever I want and get out wherever I want. But still nothing definite.

Keep you updated once I'm settled somewhere in NZ..



P.S. If you're interested, that's my today's Todo-list ; ) :


• Alarm at 6.30 am, time for a lonely beachside workout!
• Check out of hostel & travel to Brisbane
• Find a hostel to leave luggage
• Check out Brisbane
• Chill at the park
• Update travelblog
• Have a beer at the hostel bar
• Go to the airport and sleep 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The beach I'm talking aboutThe beach I'm talking about
The beach I'm talking about

Surfer's paradise beach
Story Bridge BrisbaneStory Bridge Brisbane
Story Bridge Brisbane

They do have a lot of glass buildings in Brisbane..
Busy BrissieBusy Brissie
Busy Brissie

That leaf literally jumped in front of my lens and flew away after my shot was done :)


Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb