Wednesday June 4th-Day 103


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 6:30. The plan was for Mike and I to both work with Adrian today. We were to meet him at his shed in Strathpine for 8:30. Nothing interesting happened before work. Woke up, had a shower, grabbed breakfast, got my gear and left. We showed up to the shed at 8:20 and shortly after I received a call from Adrian with a request to throw some stuff in the back of the truck. Mike and I got to that and then waited for him to show up. He arrived I introduced Mike and Adrian and we were off. The plan was to go back to a site that I had been to last week before the massive rains. We arrived at the site around 9:00 and it was still too wet. Adrian was grouchy as usual and called it off within five minutes. I told him that I wanted all my pay up to today and he said he would drop us off close to town. I ended up getting a cheque from him, not what I wanted but still four hundred bucks. To be honest I was just happy to get all my pay out of him and be gone. Mike and I walked back into town. We got changed and relaxed around the hostel for a bit. Now that we had the whole day we thought it would be best to finish up the travel package and get that all taken care of. Before that thought we went to Trades and Labour Hire a labout hire agency we had been using to pick up our tax forms so that we could file taxes. From there we took a bus into town where we went to the Red Cross. Mike had received a call the day before about blood cards being returned from our address. WE dont check the mail very often and many people get stuff sent there so things get returned if you are not checking every two days or less. We used this chance to go into the blood donor clinic and determine how we could receive our cards. They told us that it would take ten business days to get the cards resent. As we are leaving town Saturday we needed to come up with a solution. I decided I would go down to the post office and find a post office in Cairns, where we will be in about 3 weeks. I returned and we set it up so that they would be waiting at the post office there for us to pick up when we get into town. From there we went to HMV because Mike is so obsessed with listening to music even if he has already listened to it that week. If he gets within 500 metres of the HMV he HAS to go. After that we finally went to Peter Pans, the backpacker travel place. We basically already had the trip planned so we just went in confirmed the details and told them that we would take it. The total of the trip we baught will end up being about $2500. $2044 was payable to Peter Pans and the rest would be in national park fees, gas levys etc. We told them that we would pay with our debits and went to pay. Unfortunatly we were unable to pay as our limits were too low to cover the large amount. Because of this we each paid a 800 dollar downpayment so that we could book the urgent parts of the trip. We took off down the street to a bank branch to see if we could get our limit raised but the Bank closed at 4. The banks in australia are brutal. They are open from 9 until 4 so if you don't go on break from work you can not go at all basically. Anyways from there we went back and told them that we would come back tomorrow and pay the remainder. After this I stuck around and used their computers. The computers at the hostel do not allow you to add photos or anything so I have been using their computers the last few days to atleast put them on Facebook so most people can see them.

We went back to the hostel and grabbed dinner. The rest of the night was spent watching tv as it was the largest tv night of the week. First "Friends" then "Neighbors" is on which is an awful dinner time soap. During that time we read the free daily newspaper which is actually very good. After that there was "Rules of Engagement" and "Back to You." Finally to cap off the night was the two hour season finale of "House."
After that was done it was 10:30. Bed time! I went downstairs and grabbed all my stuff so that I could make food for tomorrow (empty bottle/ziplocks) and went to the kitchen to make lunch and breakfast for the morning. The plan was to go to AWX, the labour hire company bright and early.

After I got all that ready I had to go downstairs and say good bye to this awesome bunkmate I have had for the past 4 days. Her name is Shelly and she is from somewhere in England. Her and her friend basically drank and slept the whole time they were here but when I came back from work they were always around were awesome to joke around with. She is leaving tomorrow morning so we exchanged contact details because we will be in Noosa just up the coast at the same time. After that I finally made it to bed around 11:30. Only six hours till the alarm goes off!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb