Thursday June 5th-Day 104


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First of all two days left in Brisbane! The alarm went off today at 5:50 even though Shelly's had been going off constantly it seemed since 5:00. I got up and grabbed a shower. When I got back I said good bye to Shelly as it was the last time I would see her in Brisbane. I grabbed all my work stuff and went to AWX. They had cereal out waiting so I did not have to eat my PB&J that I had made. I still did anyways though. I sat around there reading the papers like usual enjoying my coco pops with TONNES of milk. Figured I would get my dairy for the day since it was free lol. Turns out the weather is still killing the work situation. Casey a guy who deals with the backpackers came down and said there was no work. He explained how AWX genereally employs about 180-200 workers today. He said because of the incredible amount of rain they only were employing about 40 people today. After this news I went back to the hostel, probably in the best spirits I could ever be in for not getting work. I knew there was lots I could get done today and I couldn't wait to pay the rest of that travel debt so that we could get everything booked and taken care of. I went back to the hostel and it was about 8:15. Shelly and her friend were already gone. I changed into my usual bathing suit and shirt combo threw on my new sandals I got about a week ago and went upstairs. I hopped on the computers and checked my mail and such waiting for mike to get ready for the day. It took him a while but by about 10:00 we were finally ready to go and pay off what we owed. Because of the limit on our card we had to stop at the bank and just get the money in cash. We each got $1244 out the bank. This was very weird yet cool to have twenty four 50 dollar bills and some change in my hands. I felt rich! We got the money put in an envelope and went off to Peter Pans. Before we gave them the money we had to do something with the money. We won't have that much money in our hands for a long time so we took a picture of all that money spelling OZ (the nickname for Australia) on a coffee table. The O Mike made with his 1200 in fifties and the Z I made with the 1200 I had in fifties. After that we handed over the money. The rest of June was booked solid with action planned on every day. To see our schedule check out the East Coast Trip! entry. After this we were very excited but wanted to do more planning. We went straight from Peter Pans to the train station where we took a train to research camper vans for after our East Coast trip. I will hold off on telling the plans on that, you will have to wait until later! After doing this we returned to town getting some groceries. From there we split up mike went to HMV as usual and I went to Peter Pans to put videos up and write some blog entries. After doing that I went back to the hostel, made dinner and watched some tv/read paper. at 7:00 I went down to the room where I finished up the Bill Bryson book and then went to sleep. Last day of work tomorrow. Hopefully I get work!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb