Koala fun continues..


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sooo after all the fun and hard work I put in with the Koalas and Kangaroos (haha), I came home to chill with my roomates. They are really nice girls, I think that I lucked out actually. There are two girls from Ireland (Bernie and Louise), two girls from Germany (wish I could remember their names, but they are very nice.. ooh Elena and Anna), and a girl from Belgium (Tinne.) Tina is a bit of a sucker like me and trusts people/falls in love too easily. Actually I've seen her in action already and I have to say she's worse :S haha.

Tinne and I made plans to go the next day (today) for supper and a good night out.. to celebrate me being a "newbie" to Australia. However, when I came back from the lounge later that evening the two Irish girls already had a "goon" (box wine) and Tinne had joined them in drinking in.. I soon joined in as well. We ended up going down to the Hostels pub for an hour or so.. which was decent fun. (I met a really hot German guy.)

After that we continued on to a bar called Casablancas only about a block away. It was karaoke night there (most people were actually pretty good.) I was pretty entertained by the many "steamin" (hammered) people in the bar.

I actually found a twin for my friend Justin back home. Seriously, the spittin image. I had to call Colleen and let her know AND get a picture of him to show Justin. His name was Nathan.. Justin with an Aussie accent, how weird. I told him that he did have a twin in Canada and he should check that out, but he proceeded to tell me that he realy doesn't care for Americans and therefore didn't want to go to Canada. Not sure what Americans have to do with Canada, but maybe he was tryin to generalize without actually generalizing...

Later that night, near the end (bars are open fairly late here.. I don't think we got turfed out til after 3am) I met two extremely nice Aussie boys, which was fairly exciting cuz i hadn't realy met anyone from Oz yet! I even sang Karaoke with the one (Jason), Baby got Back.. can you believe that? Can you even sing to that? I didn't know any of the words cept "baby got back" and the very beginning.. so I Just kind of danced and looked like an idiot the rest of the time.
I learned all sorts of interestings things from the Auzzies though.. like apparently you can pretend a vacuum cleaner hose is a didgeridoo! And that Canadians (well they said Americans but again, tryin not to offend me I think) say 'mate' just like it says.. kind of like well that kangaroo found it's 'mate' - when actually it's supposed to sound a bit more like meh-te. Yeah I don't know. They are crazy. The other Auzzie, Dean, is like an encylcopedia for Australia, he was telling me all sorts of facts.. stuff that I really can't remember too clearly now as it was over a week ago (this is why you need to blog right away afterwards!)

I had sooo much fun with those boys that night! I don't think I went to bed until almost 5am. I actually ended up going over to Deans house a couple nights later to watch "footy" (rugby), which they had to completely explain to me because I had noooo idea what was going on. But boys in little shorts! Sounds ok to me 😊
It turns out that Jason is moving back home to Bundaberg (probably 4-5 hours north of Brisbane on the east coast ish?) - and I just happen to be heading up there eventually. So Jason was soo awesome and gave me his number and I'm supposed to call when I'm up there and I MAY have a place to stay.. which would be sweet. Plus he's going to show me around and take me out to his parents farm.. he wants to take me hunting which im not a huge fan of.. but he may teach me to crack a whip! woooop!

I think that will be pretty cool so hopefully that works out! 😊 Hurray for Auzzies!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb