The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
May 14th 2008
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I went to the Sanctuary. What an amazing experience. This koala sanctuary hosts 130 koalas and is the biggest in all of Australia. It's located a little ways out of Brisbane and is a very natural setting.

They have a kangaroo/wallaby reserve where the kangaroos and wallabies roam free and you can walk in and chill with them. Since they are pretty tame you can feed them, pet them, sit next to them, lay next to them.. but watch out for the poop! One of the coolest things was that I was able to see a pretty faced wallaby and her joey. At first all I could see was this weird claw like thing sticking out of her (his foot), and I was like wow that's awfully weird lookin.. hahaha. But then he kind of flipped around and popped his head out to say hello! That was very cool.

I also watched the Koala show and I learned an awful lot about Koalas! Did you know Koalas can get chlamydia and researchers are working on a vaccine by testing on Koalas? Yup.. so any of you out there with this problem - cross your fingers and maybe make a donation to Lone Pine 😉

Of course I had to take part in cuddling a Koala and got my picture taken :D That was pretty cool. They are really freakin heavy. And models, I swear those little guys love the camera. It's like they just automatically turn their head to look at it.

The sanctuary also had wombats, dingos (which just looked like sad dogs in a cage, wasn't a huge fan of that), lorikeets (which I got to hold-ish while they were eating.) bats, the crazy turkey on stilts! (haha lee), and crocs..

It was definitely my favourite thing that I have done so far, I was absolutely in love. I met a nice girl from Austria so we were able to help each other out on taking some very cool pictures which was rad.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb