A heart attack.. almost.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Mt Coot tha
May 19th 2008
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I just constantly impress myself. Honestly.

On sunday (May 18th) me and Tinne had a lovely day visiting Mt Coot tha.. (the mountains here are hilarious.. they are more like slightly enlarged hills.) But it's really cool because you can see the whole city of Brisbane as well as Moreton Island in the distance. Pretty rad all in all. That night we went out for roast dinner.. well I had roast lamb.. at Tin Billys. It's unreal there you can get a steak dinner (300g) for 9.90.. and it's unreal, I haven't had steak that good in a LONG time. I was amazed.. and I ate it all, oh yes I did. I think we had that steak meal 4 times while I was in Brisbane.. hahaha.

Later that night we went to the pub downstairs where i only had a couple drinks but went crazy dancing. The next morning I woke up and I could barely breathe.. it hurt SO much. I thought I was dying in fact (not even really exagerrating.)

I called my mom after a few hours of this because inhalers weren't helping.. and she panicked me enough that I went to see the "chemist" (pharmacist), who also agreed that it was serious enough (possibly) that I should go see the doctor.. and I was like SON OF A ....! Because that costs money and claiming is a bit of a hastle and whatnot.

But anyway, I went, and what an experience!

Apparently, if you have chest pain, you are getting first dibs at seeing the Doc.. NICE.. I'm planning on keeping that in mind from now on.
I saw the RN first actually and she was unreal nice, took the time to talk with me and sort things out.. I don't think I've ever been treated so good actually. She asked if I wanted to get an ECG done and I decided to to just make sure my ticker was ok.. That was pretty cool actually, just like a movie or tv show or something. She printed me a copy so that I can show my mother, first souvenier of Australia. YES!

After that I saw the doctor and wow.. Australians are unreal laid back. He was like ok so where is the pain? I pointed to the middle of my chest. And he was like "Right, between your boobs then." I was like what?! BREASTS, it's BREASTS in the doctors office... (no I didn't actually say that.) He checked me all out and decided I wasn't having a heart attack and that I possibly pulled a muscle in my chest dancing (he asked if I had done any physical activity lately.. that was about the extent of it.) He was like ballroom dancing? I was like erm no like.. I don't know.. then I did a little dance for him and he was like umm.. right. How old are you? I was like, 22.... he was like OHH so 22 year old dancing! Giving it your all?
Yes yes, that was exactly it. Then I was telling him I was going to Noosa.. he was like oh aren't you lucky, beautiful, but COLD up there right now!? I Was like isn't it like, 25-30 degrees? He was like um yeah, that's like the FUCKING artic (yeah F-bomb, I was half shocked but it was pretty funny.) I was like well right in Canada that's summer.. and he was like WELL NO WONDER you are walking around half naked (jean skirt & tank top) and I'm wearing a jumper!
Is this sounding at all inappropriate to you? hahaha, I was pretty amused.
Discussing it with TInne later, we actually think I might have pulled it climbing into the top bunk whilst being drunk and not so careful.. cuz honestly I dance like that all the time. Plus, the weight of carrying around my bag probably didn't help.

Anyway, I'm all good now, no more pain and I'm really just amused that I managed to get to the doctor a week after being here..
Oh, and I also managed to get a call from an Irish boys ex girlfriend.. yup, but that's another story.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb