Poop and beer: A dinner fit for a king


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Auchenflower
April 22nd 2006
Published: April 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Surfers was more of a relaxing time then straight partying which was definitely necessary. Our hostel was more of a hotel then anything; our room was bottom floor with access to a hot tub right outside our door and a pool across the grass. We had a room to four of us with our own fridge, bathroom and TV. All for $25 a night, the standard price for a hostel. The girls in our group are awesome; they planned the rest of my trip for me and I love them for it. I don’t think I’ve been more relaxed, this trip is amazing. The first night in Surfers we had a coupon for a place called Down under which was a dump. The coupon gave a free meal with a purchase of a pint. So since we were going to be drinking anyways, I figured why not? The answer came very soon, a disgruntled waitress plopped down two plates of ‘grub’ in front of us. There was a meat which I wouldn’t classify as mean, a veggie patty which had noodles in it, some smash (Unmixed dry potato mix, I think they forgot the just add water part), and heaps of cheap gravy. Needless to say, after eating this, I didn’t feel so hot and went home to sleep. The next day we got up and headed to wet’n’wild theme park. Surfer’s paradise is known for their sky rises right on the beach and their amusement parks. It was a fun day, but I wouldn’t pay another $40 to do it again. We pretty much drank the rest of the Surfers away and then we were off to Brisbane, capital of Queensland and the 3rd biggest city in Oz. We stopped not far out of Surfer’s paradise for our zorbing experience. SOOOO much fun! Zorbing is basically going into a big ball with water and rolling down a hill. Tom and I acted as speed bumps and got rolled over; I have the coolest video of it. When I get back I’ll show you all. We arrived in Brisbane that night and booked into ‘The palace’ hostel which used to be a boarding school. The elevator is one of those old school ones where you have to open both doors to get in and out; the bottom floor is the bar, an old school elevator ride away. Last night after the bar four of us headed to the roof to drink some more and we took Pea with us. I’ll explain: Pea is a Peapod that Claire and Heather found in Sydney and picked up. They were going to take him everywhere they went with them in oz and then take him home. Tom has been torturing Pea to no avail and I held off because it would have been really terrible if we broke it. The girls left pea in surfers and I picked him up and put him in my bag. That takes us to the roof last night where we were throwing him around. He dropped countless times but was still okay on the hard pavement. I jokingly took a bottle to his head lightly and Pea snapped right open… and now I feel bad. But the peas look really cool. Sorry, I felt like I needed to tell that story and now that its written it was a waste of time. Oh well. Today I actually slept in and then went shopping where I got a new belt and found a hat that I like just as much as the one Julie stole with me. I spent money when I have none, I’m terrible. We’re spending a few more nights in Brisbane then are off to Hervey Bay where we are going to take a trip to fraser island and then to whit Sundays. It is going to be so amazing and I can’t wait.
Until then mates!
-Jeff
PS - Stayed in tonight for some money saving and resisted the temptation as everyone got ready. I had a nice nap and by the time I woke up, they were back. Good call on my part: up at 7am to catch the bus to Harvey Bay.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



24th April 2006

Well, so you've finally met people your own age, I'm proud of you! It sounds like you're having a great time! Hopefully you won't run out of money before the end of the trip, but you only live once so go for it and drink your liver out (although I would suggest that you don't drink too much so that you don't remember things, such as dancing on a table with three girls, that would've been a good memory to have!)
24th April 2006

Well I'm happy for you, you've found some people your own age! Sounds like you're having a great time! Hopefully you don't run out of money before the end of the trip, although... you only live once so you might as well drink your liver out (but I wouldn't suggest drinking so much that you don't remember things, such as dancing on a table with three girls, that would've been a good memory to have!)
24th April 2006

just to clear my name it wasnt' a hat i stole WITH you as much as a hat i stole FROM you. geez jeffie way to make me sound like a criminal. miss ya lots, i can't believe you went zorbing that is freaking AWESOME. i am definately jealous.
27th April 2006

mmm grub. what could be any better than that? sounds like a good time overall though. didnt have any access to a comp through it though eh? anyways hope you have even more fun!
2nd May 2006

Jeffy!
Wow Jeffy......I couldn't do what you're doing! Wait, I'll be living in the desert for the next 6 weeks......maybe I'll tie you with some relativly PG stories........or not! :)
2nd May 2006

I want that 30 seconds of my life back where you talked about the pea.
3rd May 2006

In airlie beach
Well sorry marcel, but the Pea story was necvessary for me to remember certain events. hah, the journal is for me too asshole. But its your birthday so I'll let you off. And this is wishing Laura a good trip in Africa. I havent had wireless for a while but I have tons of pictures and journal entrys to add. When I finally get it be prepared to read an essay. Miss you all -Jeff

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb