Brisbane!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Auchenflower
January 4th 2009
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Why hellllllllllllllllllo!
We're still in Brisbane, and so far so good. I don't really remember what I wrote in the last post so I might be a bit repetitive. We were one of the first to ring in the new year, so that was pretty cool. We had a bbq at Jessy and John's place; low key but lots of fun! John thought it was a good to pour two bottles of champagne on everyone, so he did! hahha.
So far we've just been wandering around the city doing little day trips here and there. The humidity, my god, is a killer! We take a couple of cold showers a day, but that only cools you down for about 15 minutes, haha. I feel like such a mess, hahah. Other than that, lovely city! The people are cool and easy going, but they dress up... a lot. My backpacker attire definitely makes me feel like a scrub, but meh, I'm on holiday and don't know anybody here so why should I care? haha. Fortunately, Jessy let me borrow a few of her dresses for when we actually went out at night... thank you again!

A few things that I have picked up so far:
- Like I said before, girls dress up so much more when going out, or just shopping
- People say 'How are you going?' rather than, 'How are you doing?'
- The term 'recovery' means the only way of getting rid of a hangover is by drinking and paryting more the next day... which is something that I have yet to experience
- Due to the heat, I have sexy kankles, and stubs as toes. At one point my fingers had suffered from this as well
- The ladies here love their gladiator sandals. So many people wear them, and they are tooooonnes of them in every store
- Everybody here loves cricket. They talk about it as if it's hockey, and I have yet to figure out how it is played. It looks like baseball, but not really? I dunno!!
- The Australians love their share of Kings of Leon. They are literally played everywhere, leading me to think that they were actually from Australia, but apparently they're from the States... whooops.

Off the top of my head, that's all that I can think of! Julie and I were thinking of making our way to Byron Bay within the next day or two. When I finish posting this, we're gonna try to plan and see how we're gonna get from place to place! That's all that I've got for now! Drop a line, and talk to you soon! Bye!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb