Brisbane Or Bust!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Aspley
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Seven hours after the event, I still haven't got the slightest clue as to what that film was about last night...this worries me!! After saying my goodbyes to Tracy, Andy and Byron...the airport shuttle bus arrived and I plonked my case in the trailer and clambered in. It wasn’t until we reached the next collection point that the driver realised that he failed to shut the trailer door and my case was half hanging out, he informed me of this fact when he got back into the driver's seat. I am sure the Australian customs officers have me down as either a drug trafficker or terrorist as my day continued with being 'randomly selected (yeah rite)' for their explosive/ illegal substance screening process which involved having my bag searched and the contents, plus pockets, shoelaces and holdall swabbed...after which the tissue was fed into a fancy machine reminiscent of something found in the Bat Cave for analysis!!! The Result....Clear! Question is, what are they gonna subject me to in a month's time enroute to Sydney...the mind boggles!! As I had time to kill, I found an internet facility where I could check emails and such, one of which really made me smile... all this smiling I think is going to result in me eventually having to have my cheekbones surgically strengthened! After spending the next hour in dreamland, I boarded my Quantas flight via gate 19 for Brisbane. The flight was pretty up and down in places, but I got an amazing view of the Great Barrier Reef from 31,500ft which more than compensated...it was an awesome sight! Baggage reclaim was very straight forward though why is it that your case always seems to be the last off every time...that worries me!! Mike collected me from the pickup zone and we chatted all the way back to Stafford, my base for the next month before meeting firstly Ella and later Eric who has quite possibly one of the biggest televisions I have ever seen. We collected some grog from the offy and settled down for evening with the 3rd One Day International between Australia and South Africa...which the Aussies lost!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb