Adels Grove birds


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Boodjamulla National Park
September 18th 2015
Published: February 12th 2016
Edit Blog Post

As I mentioned in my Adels Grove blog I was going to do a small and separate blog for the birds of Adels Grove and surrounds, this is it.





The pick in this lot is the elusive Purple Crowned Fairy Wren. Only the male gets the purple crown and this is around mating time – Spring time. Boodjamulla National Park is definitely one of the most popular spots to see these wrens.





Because of this many birders come specifically to this area in the hope of capturing a view. Birders and I reckon I can safely say are very passionate, all of them, about their hobby/interest.





I only managed to see and photograph just the one a week before finishing work there. To say I was pleased is a massive understatement. I am pretty happy with the image I captured I took 3 shots in all as he flittered about the tree and within ten seconds he was gone.





Surprising to me at least was the vast majority of birders are not into photographing birds they thoroughly enjoy observing and taking that memory not a picture with them. Good on them I say because to get really good bird shots you need to spend your hard earned on some pretty decent equipment.





Patience, luck, the ability to observe and determination to succeed are helpful for those who don’t have the more expensive gear. Slot me in to that category.





Now I certainly don’t classify myself as a birder but I have had a great fondness for these creatures all my life.





I’ve had an interest in photography for a long time but it was not until I hit the road nearly 4 years ago that I decided to see if I could get some nice shots. Travelling around Australia or for that matter any country in the world means you will visit certain areas that are home to specific birds and they will not be found anywhere else.





This opportunity I feel should not be missed. One of my main reasons for doing this blog is for the future I will be able to look back with enormous fondness, pride and clarity on my journeys.





Many many other birds inhabit this beautiful part of the country but of course you can’t photograph them all, at least you can say you were at least fortunate enough to see them.





Take care travel safe and remember it’s nice to be important but it’s important to be nice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



13th February 2016
6

Red-Winged Parrot
May I suggest you edit your photo to give this fellow his name...great shot of a Red-Winged Parrot
28th February 2016
6

The old red winged parrot
Yeah you are right Dave but I did not have my bird book with me at the time. I could not remember all of the birds so I just ran with it, the Purple Crowned was particularly special. Thanks for putting it into the birds thread - life would be considerably duller indeed without these beautiful creatures.
13th February 2016

Birds
Great to see a bird blog Bernie. I'll post it in the birds thread in the Photography Forum. One day I plan to blog my pics of the birds in my backyard, bordering Berowra Valley National Park. Without birds visiting and their songs, our days would be dull indeed.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 15; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb