Birdsville


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Birdsville
June 26th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It was a long dusty road to Birdsville. When we got there we looked around for a long time, but we finally found a campsite beside the river, under the windmill. We set up camp and drove out to Big Red. Big Red is a huge red sand dune at the start of the Simpson Desert. I climbed up it. There was like a platform of sand on the angle, when you got to the top, but you could go up a little mini hill to the side. I got up to the top of it - on my hands and knees, because I was very, very puffed. I was amazed at the beautiful view. After we got back to town - it was 36km’s out - we had tea at the famous Birdsville Hotel.

In the morning we got up and when I was having breakfast I thought I heard a budgie. Then I heard more sounds, that I thought were budgies. I looked around, but I could see nothing. Then I could see a little green bird on a bit of a tree. I then said to my Mum, “I think that is a budgie”. She said, “No,
Big RedBig RedBig Red

That's me at the top
it’s probably a grass parrot”. We looked closer and saw that yes, it was a green and yellow wild budgie.

The Working Museum in Birdsville has lots of old things. It has two animals which were a cross between a horse (for a Mum) and a donkey (for a Dad). The name of the animal is a mule.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb