why is Buying Pizza is Just Too Complicated


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Atherton Tablelands
August 23rd 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Babinda Camp GroundBabinda Camp GroundBabinda Camp Ground

Camps 5 Reference 13 Page 14 QLD, excellent camp site.
DAY 288


A very damp start to the morning again, wakeing up at this pretty camp site at Babinda, Andy looked outside the tent and it was very misty indeed. I jumped out of bed at around 7.00 leaving Andy in some peaceful slumber. Actually I did not jump out of bed, I used the step ladder at the foot of the bed like I always do, I would have a problem if something happened to the step ladder in the night as it would be quite a high jump.

I pottered around outside, thankfully we left the chairs inside last night so they are not damp with the misty morning air, by now the sun is well and truly up, the mist is hanging over the mountains behind us, despite the sun it is still cool, however it does not take long before it heats up.

I took Andy his cup of tea, it does make a change for him to laze around in bed and drink tea, but we all deserve that every now and again and after all it is Sunday.

We had hoped to stay here for another day, however we did already have plans to drive into Cairns, book into the Crystal Cascades for 1 night as we are seeing Julie about renting her house for a month, we need to go and have a look, Julie needs to show us around and to finalise the detail.

So after a light breakfast of cereal, I get on with packing up the inside of the tent, Andy is doing some spreadsheet work on the laptop, but we cannot fold the tent until the sun has dried the moisture from the damp start to the day.

By 10.00 I have telephoned Crystal Cascades to book in for one night, we tell them we will be with them by 11.00.

We are back on the road and heading out of Balbinda we drive further North, through Gordonvale and onto Cairns, this time bypassing the city as we can drive straight out to Redlynch, an uneventful journey though stunning driving through the vast fields of sugar cane that line the highway and in behind the fields is the backdrop of mountains. We see many places on the way that we can come and explore while we are staying in Cairns.

We arrive at Crystal Cascades just after 11.00, we are shown to our site, but before we set up Andy has one thing on his mind and that is to clean the red dust off the trailer cover, so he sets about giving it a good clean. In the meantime I make some toast for our lunch, we are short on fresh food supplies so a visit to Woolworths is on the cards for the afternoon, bang goes my lazing around by the swimming pool.

Once it is finished we put the Wendy house on wheels up and the afternoon sun is baking, Andy goes off for a shower while I sit inside the tent with the door wide open, the coolest place by far. I need to deal with an urgent email before heading out to Woolworths, but job done, I am showered and we are soon pushing a trolley around a very peaceful air conditioned grocery store. It is too easy to get dazzled by all of the fresh goodies on offer, you get used to making do in the Outback and buying things as you need it, i.e. because of the cost and availability of some products. We are only going to be out and about for a couple of days as on Wednesday we will hopefully be in our rented house so we will not need much.

The trouble with travelling is that each supermarket is laid out differently and you can never find the things that you actually want, it takes ages going up and down every aisle to look when all you really want to do is just go to the right place pick up the item put it in the trolley and move on.

Shopping done, back at camp and a short time to spare before changing to go out and see Julie, I sit and do some brain training and a Sudoku, but my mind is not on the Sudoku and it seems to be beating me, so I close it down with the promise of getting my head around it later.

We change to go out, I have a map of Cairns and I roughly know where we are going, we find the road and the road takes us quite high up on the side of a mountain, the houses down here look great, all different shapes and sizes, modern design, traditional design, you name it they built it.

We find Julies easily enough (on the way back down the mountain road) as by now she was standing outside watering the garden. Julie welcomes us, as cheerful and relaxed as she was last time we all met.

It is a lovely house, surrounded by trees and lots of greenery, it is very shady which will be quite welcome in the heat of the day, the house is built on stilts, we go up the stairs to the first level where we find a veranda that stretches right around the house, inside it is modern, light and airy. Julie shows us around and explains to us how everything works, we sit and chat over a cup of tea, then Julies partner Sen turns up, we chat for a little while longer but our tummies are rumbling and we must eat, so with a promise from Sen to pop round to his for a curry while Julie is away, we get on our merry way back to Redlynch and Eagle Boys Pizza, well it is not often is it?

I sit and finish typing the blog while
Test PatchTest PatchTest Patch

I cleaned a patch to see how it would come up
Andy goes in to order, a short while later he came out and said “Why is buying Pizza so complicated?” I asked what ,
Well I asked for two Pepperoni Pizza, Thin crust one with extra pineapple which will be an extra $2.00 which I agree to.

Then she says why don’t you “Build you own Pizza” and I said why is it cheaper, and the attendant says yes $2.00. I said Ok, I’ll have a Pepperoni, Thin crust with extra Pineapple, which is what I asked for a couple of minutes ago but we have added then taken away the two bucks.

Oh and a small portion of Garlic bread.

$25.00 dollars please,

OK. I go to hand the money over.

Why don’t you have the deal,

What deal,
The Drink, ribs and pie for a Total of $26.50,

Ok I’ll have that as drink we always need and the ribs and Pie can be put in the fridge and we can have them for a lunch in the next couple of days.

Its just so dammed complicated. I wouldn’t mind if the assistant to my order and said look mate
How DirtyHow DirtyHow Dirty

It doesn't take long for the red dust to attach
I know what you want and this way is the cheapest way. Finished.

Fifteen minutes to wait so I go back to the truck and Caroline is typing away at the blog.

Soon we are whizzing our way back to camp with the lovely smell of Pizza in the truck, we parked and hurry in side the Wendy house and eat our tea.

Afterwards Caroline gets her “Brain Trainer” out it is confirmed her brain is the size of a walnut and she will be taking a job with Nasa very soon on the astronaut program.

It has been a busy day and we are tired as usual, the night is quite warm and I gladly slide in to bed.

So until tomorrow.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb