Monday - bus to Arlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
October 23rd 2014
Published: October 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

As ore my previous blog I was on the 9.20pm bus to Arlie bay from Hervey Bay. It was a pretty uneventful journey, not too many people on the bus, necessary driver stops along the way and not much sleep as usual.



When I got to Arlie the complementary car (not mini bus this time) came to collect us and Curtis and Jake also wanted to stay there so the 3 of us piled in and got a lift. I checked in first and as the dorm was empty from the day before I was able to check in and go to the room before 2pm - result!



When I get there a lady called Catherine was already in the room. I was aware of her as she had been on Fraser Island at the same time as me but in a different group. I also later remembered that she had been on the bus from Sydney and had got off in Byron bay the same time as me, it's a small world :-)



Anyway we got to chatting, she is from Oldham, a chef by trade and had done quite a bit of travelling. She was a little upset as she thought her schedule was all a bit mixed up and she hadn't got enough time to do everything she was supposed to do. I had a look to see if I could figure things out but in the end I advised she should go to the travel desk and they could sort/explain it to her, bless her.



I was settling in when Jake and Curtis arrived so it was nice to know I wouldn't be sharing the dorm with crazy party animals lol. Later we were joined by a German girl travelling on her own and an English guy who,had just gotten back from the Whitsunday trip. He said it was fab but was on a party boat which is probably one of the reasons he had such a good time lol.



Any how I got my head down for a power nap and then Catherine and I went to find the agency who our boat trips were with, she is going tomorrow and I'm heading out on Wednesday. Once sorted we nipped to the supermarket, bottle shop as it's BYO on board the boat, ATM and pharmacy then back to the hostel. I dumped my stuff in the kitchen and headed back to the room. Catherine was going to do some other stuff and then we were going to meet up later to find the meeting point for the boat trip.



Back at the room I dumped my none food items and asked the boys if they fancied heading out for food as I was starving. We just ate at the pub across the road from the hostel $13 for food and a drink, no cider on draft though as apparently there had been a festival or something on at the weekend and the football boys had drunk the place dry of cider! So it was a diet coke lol.



After lunch I caught up with Catherine again and we walked down to the check the location of the meeting point and how long it took to get there. It's was getting quite muggy and humid as the sun had gone and the clouds appeared so was hard going plus i was tired from lack of sleep from the bus.



After my kip I showered and changed and we did talk about going out but the boys decided they were tired, and to be honest so was I so I just chilled out in the room and did some admin for the NZ trip. I nipped out to get a quick bit of dinner and then came back and chatted with my roomies until bed time



Xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb