clearing


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
June 18th 2006
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fri. 16 Spoonbills and large flock of black and white birds on way to Airlie Beach. Lots of yachts. Stickers very well received. Foreign tourist liked them too. Sailor in Three Peaks Race took small flag to fly during race. Captain and other crew ok.
Sat 17. Sold small flag to four yachtsmen. Trekked 7km through national park largely devoid of fauna (that I saw). A few birds and butterflies. From lookout thought I was viewing 3-P Race. Six yachts and a multihull beating to Long Island (sign at lookout). Binoculars not strong enough to make out flag (ha, ha). Saw them cross finish line and luff up to drop sail. Later confirmed at sailing club where I met Jeff and heard a fascinating tale of sail from somewhere to Noosa, 30 knots, in an hour and forty five, waves cresting astern on Sunshine Reef under spinnaker, finally flashing into Noosa where the surfers go a shock. Then I find free internet for members ( I've agreed with the barmen, I'm on members prices). Jeff said they were at table eleven (i.e. I had a booking) when I needed him because I'd just found out the menu was on Half Price Saturday!!! Definitely my kind of place.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb