Tuesday June 17th


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
June 17th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a 14 hour bus ride from Rainbow Beach, crossing the Tropic of Capricorn we arrived in Airlie Beach. The bus ride was rather uneventful with three bus driver changes and complete darkness for a good 11 hours of the trip (winter here). I was actually quite impressed by the amount of sleep I achieved on the bus. Mike required most of the day to catch up on sleep, while I had already achieved my nine hours. After getting off the bus we walked a short while to our hostel. This isnt as easy as it seems lugging the 40 kilos of stuff I have accumulated. each room of the hostel was its own seperate cabin and after 10 minutes in the room our roommates arrived. It was quite hysterical as we had been matched up by complete coincidence with four of the members from our Fraser Island experience. Most of them went to sleep, while I was fully recharged already. I dragged Mike out of bed so that we could check in for our voyage. Other then that the day was uneventful. everyeone else was asleep so I walked around the small town seeing what there was to see. For a town of 3000 peopel it is quite built up with plenty of restauraunts however it has no grocery store which was shocking and dissapointing. The rest of the day was spent packing and preparing for the sailing trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb