Whitsunday Islands


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
November 24th 2005
Published: May 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Koala at Steve Irwin's placeKoala at Steve Irwin's placeKoala at Steve Irwin's place

these guys sleep even more than I do.
hey guys.... I've finally settled down here, in the nice little town of airlie beach. I've just found a place to live here, with a local aussie, after storing my bags at the prosail office the last week and rotating through dorm rooms while on shore. Being temporarily homeless can be funny, if you can laugh at yourself.... I do it daily. Anyways, I've just got my job here confirmed, after a 3 day training trip. My boss, Dave a good lad, has thrown me on to HAMMER, maxi-yacht, sailing machine, a bloody weapon on the water. It takes 19 passangers and 4 crew, all of which I'll be cooking for and playing beach volleyball with, when not helping the skipper sail the boat. Last trip the crew was awesome, the skipper, Dan was only 24 and we took out 16 (11 girls) off the Contiki bus for a 3 day sail on the HAMMER....... I managed to get a well deserved back massage from one of the passangers, Katrina (a dancer at disneyland in germany)... it was nice. Every couple hours i dive off the boat for a swim, because I sweat about 100 litres in the galley (kitchen). This
DidgereedooDidgereedooDidgereedoo

This guy was playing like 4 didges and playing the guitar... awesome
is a bit different from Wallaby Creek, as coiling the lines and scrubbing the deck are not optional. check it out at www.prosail.com.au .... click on 'next' under maxi yachts ...... k well I know more than a paragraph pisses people off so I'll try and get some photos up on this baby. hope all is well.... cheers and have fun.
just added some photos, enjoy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

cheetahscheetahs
cheetahs

i hate seeing them in a zoo, but they're really beautifull, hopefully by the time I go see them in Africa they won't all be poached. Run cheetah Run!
Cricket at the GabbaCricket at the Gabba
Cricket at the Gabba

If you look closely all the aussies are stacking their cups into one big beer cup snake. A quality move in the stands, during the 5 day test - Aus 475 - West Indies 120. Aussie crushed them. Oi Oi Oi
Cricket testCricket test
Cricket test

Me, Hamish and Will with Lozette from Peru (friend of hamish's girlfriend) .... watching the non-stop action at the cricket stadium in Brisbane.
StuckStuck
Stuck

Scotty's land rover stuck in the sand on Moreton Island (similar to Fraser Island) ... good work lads.
Dinner - Moreton IslandDinner - Moreton Island
Dinner - Moreton Island

Dinner at the house my mates rented for the weekend, on Moreton Island, near Brisbane
Hill Inlet - Whitehaven beachHill Inlet - Whitehaven beach
Hill Inlet - Whitehaven beach

This is pretty much the nicest lookout i've ever seen. Though this is at high tide, during low tide the colours are more impressive. We take the passengers from the boats here every trip.
beach volleyball on whitehaven beachbeach volleyball on whitehaven beach
beach volleyball on whitehaven beach

Doelman, The Mule and Mcknight up front ready to kill, 25 million dollar Matador Maxi Yacht anchored off the beach.
HAMMERHAMMER
HAMMER

My new office, the Hammer maxi yacht. I took this when the passengers went snorkeling... so the 6 supermodels in bikini's are absent.
CondorCondor
Condor

one of the most famous maxi yachts in history
Dinner with the crewDinner with the crew
Dinner with the crew

Some good friends on erramango drive, airlie beach. cheers
look up Willlook up Will
look up Will

the JD collection is just above you mate.
some fine diningsome fine dining
some fine dining

Me and Zach, Will and Josafine (Yosafina)
abel point marinaabel point marina
abel point marina

this is a sick private yacht from the caymans.
Apollo Maxi YachtApollo Maxi Yacht
Apollo Maxi Yacht

the gerchin.
some of the prosail ladssome of the prosail lads
some of the prosail lads

robbo, benny, ritcho, geoff and lukie


25th November 2005

awesome
Hey Logs -Al and I just read your first entry! Sounds fabulous! So glad you have a place to live and I just visited the prosail web site and saw Hammer - wow- what a sailboat! ...I want to come sail! Can we do that in April? would be soooooooo fun! Lots of love from Al and me - Mom
29th November 2005

Hey Dobes, Things are hanging fine in Ottawa. You are the talk of the town......So when it's your next trip cross the ocean back to Canada? I love those pictures that you sent, keep them coming. Can I use of them for my future brochure? I will be getting my real estate licence by the end of the year, keep my fingers crossed. Already have my first listing lined up, I am going to hit up Tosh to sell his house! Keep up your good work.....:-) Cheers, Rita
30th November 2005

hello logan !
Hi bro, I finally figured out how to see the rest of the blog (well, mostly the pictures) after mom sent me the link last weekend, same time you did. I know, fuckin hillarious that your computer geek can't figure out how to work a frikking webpage but hey, that's how it is, noone ever said I wasn't a stoner. Cheers mate, hope you're having a good voyage. Say hey from your brother in Canada for me to all the passer's through and residents of Airlie Beach, Australia.
14th December 2005

Terry Traveller
I'm comin for ya Dobie... Looks nice but I don't see any outdoor rinks or Minglewoods... Can't have it all... cya soon

Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb