Been a while.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
October 10th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

OZ


It's been a long time since I updated my travel blog, this is due to a blend of laziness and ability to find anywhere cheap to use the interweb.

Since I was last online we have travelled all the way up to north Queensland and it has been one hell of a journey, the sights have been fantastic. Conversely my organisation has not been, this has left me with a lack of photos to post on here! Not to worry, I do have a few for your viewing pleasure.

One thing that strikes me as we continue our journey is how vast Australia is. The size of the place is staggering and since we have been driving up the coast this has become painfully obvious. There are pictures all over the place of the whole of Europe superimposed onto a picture of Australia and it fits inside it easily. We are in Airlie beach now and so far the drive has been epic with some great places along the way, one of the best for me was Byron Bay which unfortunately happend to be the place where I was at the height of my disorganisedness ( I just made that word up for the porpose of this sentence), to that end I hve no photos of it.

The photos I have added to this journal relate to the early part of the raod trip. Ebor falls was a place we visited on the recomendation of an Australian and we wern't dissapointed It was amazing and the journey to it was off the beaten track which was a nice change. We noticed that the Australian approach to marketing is "make massive stuff and put it on the roof of your Premises" hence the huge prawn. Can't think what they might have been trying to advertise with that!

We also embarked on a short trip to Fraser island which is the worlds biggest sand bar. It is an amazing place with no roads the only means of transport was by 4WD vehicle, this we hired from the company we booked through. As a bonus for us they threw in 7 other people who we promptly made friends with. Once we were all set with far to much food and booze we set off on our adventure. The sand tracks were pretty bumpy but the 4x4 dealt with it with
Termite moundTermite moundTermite mound

Saw loads of thes by the roadside while we were driving through the middle of nowhere.
no problems, Our first stop was lake Makenzie which was amazing, the water was as blue as I have ever seen and the sand was blindingly white. All in all we had about three days on the island and it was a great experience.

Anyway thats enough for now, I will be more organised from now on prommise.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Nice touchNice touch
Nice touch

What looks like a load of rubbish to the untrained eye was in fact some quirky letter boxes.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb