Australia - Airlie Beach & Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
June 21st 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Airlie Beach at 6pm on Wednesday 13 June after an 11 hour bus journey and we checked into Magnums. We had dinner and drinks at the hostel bar while watching the Queensland Vs New South Wales rugby game. The bar at Beaches was next followed by a club where we stayed until 4am. On Thursday morning, we checked out and prepared for our Whitsunday's sailing trip. We boarded the Atlantic Clipper boat at 12.30pm along with 44 other people and set sail. The weather was quite bad so everyone stayed inside and started drinking at 2pm (although I stayed clear of booze). At 7.30pm, I went to our twin cabin and listened to music before going to sleep at 10pm. We were woke up on Friday at 7am for breakfast but it was raining so I went straight back to bed. At 11.30am, we were called for lunch and we sat and watched Anchorman on DVD while playing some cards. I wasn't feeling great and it was still raining so I returned to my cabin for the afternoon and read my book. Dinner was at 5pm and then we started drinking and playing poker before going up deck. Our captain showed us where we had sailed on a large map and we toasted him and his crew before playing some party games. A few of us stayed up until 3am and after only 4 hours sleep, we were woke up for breakfast. Since the weather was nice on Saturday morning, I went snorkelling for an hour and saw lots of different fish and a large clam. We then started sailing back to Airlie Beach and everyone was on the upper deck enjoying the sun. We arrived back at 1pm and I checked into Beaches Backpackers where I slept for a couple of hours. In the evening, we went out for dinner at an Indian restaurant before going to Magnums for a few drinks with Rich and Dan. We all moved into M@ss nightclub to watch 'Jelly Wrestling' before going to Morocco's to meet some of the people from our boat. On Sunday, I was busy making some travel arrangements before I walked around the town for an hour. After lunch, I spent 3 hours on the internet and then spent the evening in my friend's hostel room. On Monday morning, I read my book for a couple of hours before going for a walk to get brunch. It was still raining heavily so I did my laundry at the hostel while watching the final round of the US Open golf. Then I sat in my friends room and we watched TV for a few hours before getting our dinner from Domino's. We all went for a couple of drinks in the hostel bar before going to bed at 1am. I woke up at 8am on Tuesday to catch my bus to Townsville.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.3kb