The sea


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
May 9th 2007
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

KianaKianaKiana

Our boat!
I've certainly had my share of water vessels on this trip. I've been on cruise boats of all sizes, water taxis and kayaks, diving boats, small river ferries and large sea ferries. However, up till now, I haven't really felt the sea.
It ain't a myth. The sea can be pretty harsh. And the smaller the boat, the worse you feel it. I learned that the hard way, on a very small diving boat, going up and down on the waves and getting very sea-sick indeed. No that big vessels are completely safe either, judging by the 100m SS Yongala wreck I dived there. Great dive, but better do it from a bigger boat.
I did get on a bigger boat a day after, and this time a sail boat. Didn't get sea-sick at all this time, still, when you're sailing from the Whitsunday Islands toward the Great Barrier Reef with a 30 knots strong wind, and even with half sails the ship is on a 35 degree incline, while the rain is hitting her from the side, you really feel the sea. We never made it to the Reef, but still had a lovely time sailing the Islands, the tropical resort of your dreams. Learned a lot about boats and sailing, dived a bit and just relaxed on the beaches and on deck, between the tropical rain showers.
Amazing and intriguing thing, the sea is, but I constantly have to remind myself I'm living 15 minutes walk from the sea back home. It's just not quite the same, is it?



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Whitehaven beachWhitehaven beach
Whitehaven beach

Postcard stuff, really


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.2kb