Whitsundays - Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
April 21st 2007
Published: April 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up at the crack of dawn again.

Went through the whole process of queueing for the toilet, having breackfast (cant remember the last time I had ricecrispys) and brushing my teeth with a mug of water.

The cove we had anchored for the night was the place in which we would be doing todays snorkeling. So I quickley grabbed my stuff so I could be on the first boat load, and made our way out to the beach.

Ouch!! The beach was entirely made up of hard pointy coral which really hurt when walking around on it. I quickley put my flippers on and dived in. The water was quite cool as it was completely sheltered from the sun. Again the coral reef and fish were magnificent but in this reef unlike the previous one there was alot more dead coral, so we were having some sort of damaging effect here.

After an hour and a bit I made it back to the beach then went and watch some of the nutters off my boat jump off this really high rock (10-12 metres high). The water they were landing in was only 2 metres deep so they had to make sure they jumped in with there legs bent. They asked if I wanted to try and had to decline. I once jumped off a rock only 2/3rds that hight (8 metres approx) and it took me half an hour before I plucked the courage to do it. It would probably have taken me all week before I got brave enough to jump off one 10-12 metres high. A coupe of the guys got injured when they tried doing flips and landed on there chests.

Before long it was time to get back on board the New Horizon. We then started to make our way back to Airlie Beach. We had a nice lunch and chilled/naped our way back to base. the wind was just perfect now and the skipper brought down the sails for the first time.

Back at port we diembarked and said our goodbyes to the crew.

On my way back to the Hostel I bumped into Zoe and Sophie while they were making their way to the clipper.

That evening most of us had organised to meet in a restaurant/cafe bar outside of town where we could get special deals for having been on the New Horizon. Had a nice really cheap dinner (1 pound 75) but there wasnt enough so i had two (hello fatty). We got in some song requests and played some pool.

the place was quite dead so we left and headed down to the beachs bar for a couple of drinks before heading down to Magnums bar.

It was jelly wrestling at magnums for a 500 dollar prize (which made it quite competitive.) But sorry guys, I did bring my camera but unfortunatly the battery had died. Dont worry the images have now been burned perminantly in my memory. Besides the novalty faded after the first couple of wrestles and everyone started getting behind the backpacker girls who were getting trounced by the local ringers.

Unfortunatly being I realised I had some how lost my dorm key. So I had to head back (2ish which isnt that bad) when Leo (Brazilian) wanted to go, as he was my only ticket back into the room.

Advertisement



26th April 2007

Magnums photos
Gotta love google!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 82; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb