Roses are red, violets are blue but not quite as magic as this Whitsunday view


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
January 8th 2018
Published: January 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Hi there!

Thanks for reading my first travel blog ever and here's to many more to follow. I have made a new life change to travel far far more and have decided to document and blog about them. So here we are!

I arrived in Airlie Beach Queensland yesterday after flying into Proserpine on a fairly short flight from Brisbane (1hr 40 minutes) on Virgin Australia and then took an airport transfer to my accommodation in Cannonvale called Whitsundays Apatrtments . The 2 bedroom apartment is awesome and right on cannonvale beach. There is also a nice pool with a barbecue that i was dying to jump in as its hawwwwt.

My friend doesn't arrive for a couple of days so Im delighted i have the place to myself as im in need of some me time. Only drawback to the accommodation is its not directly in Airlie Beach but its no issue as there is a bus every 15 minutes or so that takes you straight to the centre of airlie beach and there are shops in the Whitsunday Shopping centre about 5 minutes walk away. So happy days!

I woke up early this morning to catch the sunrise and wow is it awesome, so beautiful!

I went into town this morning after a great nights sleep and wow is it awesome. The main street of Airlie is full of life and smiles are abundant on people i passed by. There is also and awesome public swimming pool called the lagoon which is right behind main street on the beach. Apparently there are quite dangerous jelly fish here so swimming in the sea inst advised unless you wear a stinger suit. That being said, Cannonvale beach in front of my apartment there is a section of the beach that has a big stinger net so i plan on going for a swim later on today there.

After i went for a swim in the lagoon, i then went back up to main street to grab some munch from a really nice restaurant called Treehouse. I had pork belly and it was YUM.Then this beautiful bird called a cockatoo came over ans said hello.

After breakfast i walked down main street and perused the shops, there are lots of travel agents promoting tours. I went into AirlieBeach.com and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I cant wait to go exploring the Islands and especially the famous Whitehaven Beach. They showed me lots of options, so i took a couple of leaflets as there are so many tours to choose from. I didnt book anything just yet as i will wait for my friend to get here so we can decide together. Although Whitehaven and the great barrier reef are definitely on the agenda.

Anyway thats it so far and will try and post regularly as this place is just magical.

Thanks for reading my first Blog!

James


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb