The VERY centre of Australia....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory
April 22nd 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In the middle of the middle of nowhere...In the middle of the middle of nowhere...In the middle of the middle of nowhere...

Apparantly someone as a joke once replaced the flag with the Dutch flag...don't think that went down too well...
We crossed the border and entered the Northern Territory, simply by opening a gate and then remembering to close it... we visited the most remote pub at Mt Dare and I had a yummy chocolate milkshake and nearly got bashed by a horse who I don't think quite liked me...or maybe he wanted my milkshake...

Now we were on our way to the very centre of Australia, if this country was cut out perfectly on cardboard, this would be the spot where it would balance. There was a flag at the centre, very similar to the one in Canberra up on Parliament House but of course a lot smaller. It was a great feeling, standing in the very centre of the country that has been my home for the past 3 months...

At one of our toilet/tree stops, our tour guide Scott decided to find some Wichetty Grubs. Man are they disgusting, I touched one with my forefinger and it just made my skin crawl...a guy called Steven in our group though took up the challenge and ate it...saying it tasted like egg...even though I absolutely love egg, I was by no means convinced...

After more driving on
Of course, it is just like an egg...Of course, it is just like an egg...Of course, it is just like an egg...

I could never eat a Wichetty Grub, just look at it, especially when it is still alive and squirmy...tasting like egg does not even tempt me...
the dirt track we finally got to a sealed road! It felt strange to be on a smooth surface again! We set up bush camp again and had toasted marshmallows...mmm...i think I had a few too many...that night though in my swag I had a sudden urge to go to the toilet, I was thinking about trying to wait until morning but I had no idea what the time was. So there I was, trying to fumble my way out of the swag, put my boots on and find a suitable tree with no torch and without my glasses on...it proved to be a bit of a mission in the end but was most definately worth it...ahahah...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Crossing the border...Crossing the border...
Crossing the border...

This sign is in fact facing the wrong way, as behind it is South Australia. I wonder if many people get confused when they are travelling south, seeing Welcome to Northern Territory, then in a few metres seeing welcome to South Australia...
Scary horsey...Scary horsey...
Scary horsey...

There was no way I would let him have my milkshake, it was too tasty...


28th April 2006

Come off it!
You are kidding me..... Didyou scream IM A CELEBRITY GET ME OUTTA HERE!!
28th April 2006

Oz
Ps Helen has kindly framed my shirt so i'll take a photo of it when i get a chance and send it to you Laters Sis xxxxx mmmmwwwahh PIB
28th April 2006

Might as well do at least one comment :P
Lucy! call your self a man do you? yet you couldnt eat a little bug. im only joking. Does sound like your having a good time. only 1 month, 2 weeks and 6 days until im getting on a plane to come meet you. so make the most of your time alone :P

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb