Wonderful Watarrka and Unbelievable Uluru


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Kings Canyon
October 27th 2010
Published: December 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Up with the Sunrise to make our way to Watarrka probably better know as Kings Canyon.

The first challenge of the day was 'heart attack hill' nicknamed so for a reason! But for the first time on my travels, I was actually able to keep up with the guides. Either I'm getting fitter (unlikely) or the guides are getting slower (also unlikely so what's going on?)

We made it to the top and the view was truly something else! I have seen so many breathtaking views this year and yet I'm still finding scenery that amazes me and looks unlike anything I've ever seen before. I'm a firm believer that it's a small world but there sure is a great deal to see in it!

Through the gorge we went and on the waterhole. The water was clean and fresh and I discovered after putting my hand in that is was ice cold too! We moved on to admire the natural patterns in the mammoth sandstone walls and peered down onto the canyon floor which words just can't really describe.

Time to leave the beautiful canyon, probably my favourite part of the middle of Australia and began our long drive towards Uluru (Ayers Rock) but on the way happen across a fake Uluru. Well not quite fake, it was Mount Connor but it was doing a pretty good impression of it when all you've seen of Uluru is photos.

We were the first bus to park up in the viewing spot so of course, we had the best seats in the house. But we really were early. We sat and waited for sunset and watched the rock slowly change colour with the descending Sun. Again, it's like nothing you've ever seen before when you see it up close - immense!

Sarah and I managed to break away from the crowds and find an amazing little spots where we were able to take some tourist-free photos.

Back to camp for pumpkin soup, more fire and some galaxy gazing in our swags again. I climbed in, zipped myself in and looked up just in time to see two shooting stars. Two more wishes for me...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb