More rocks to look at


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After returning from sunrise I had some breakfast and heading off to Kings Canyon. It took just over three hours to get there and after my early morning I was feeling tired. This place is operated by the same resort company so yet again some very high prices. It was quiet though so I did get my own room with TV. The TV turned out to be very valuable as after dark there was nothing to do.

Before dark however I drove to the Canyon and did a small walk through its base. After the previous two days walking my legs weren't up to anything more strenuous. I got back by sun set and spent the evening watching films on the only TV channel I could pick up and drinking wine.

The next morning I had a well deserved lie in. Knowing I only had a 5 hour canyon walk to do today I could afford to stay in bed. Once finally up I headed back to the canyon but this time for a more energetic walk around the top. There were a lot of other people doing this walk but I luckily managed to leave them all behind on the climb to the top. Once I'd left all the puffing and panting tourists to catch their breathe and find replacement batteries for grannies ventilator I was able to meander along the edge of the canyon in piece.

I'm surprised that there are not more tourist’s deaths up here. One wrong move and you would be base jumping without a parachute. Half way round the walk is the Garden of Eden. A so called oasis. Climbing down to the base of the Canyon to "pools of crystal clear water and tropical vegetation". I guess that was written before the 15 months without rain. What was left of the water was green and most of the tropical plants had given way to a few hardy ones that didn't need water. It was nice to get out of the sun and wind for a while though.

Once completed I was back in the resort for another night of films. Unfortunately the only thing on was Titanic. Australian TV has the worst adverts in the world. Because the TV is local you end up getting adverts for the local bowls club open day, which by the way they played 21 times during the 23 advert breaks in Titanic!!!!!!!!!

Petrol has also reached an all new high out here of $1.80 a litre. The bastards know that you have to fill up so can charge whatever the hell they like.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb