An Oasis in the Desert


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This morning I headed towards Alice Springs, the long way. If I had a four wheel drive I could have taken the 100km Giles road and been in Alice Springs by lunch time. Unfortunately I had to take a 240km detour to stay on sealed and passable roads so I ended up getting to Alice Springs at about 3pm. Just enough time to have a walk round. I'm so far not that impressed. Not exactly the oasis I'd been expecting. The River Todd runs through Alice Springs in the same as the Avon runs through Tewkesbury, apart from one difference. There hasn't been any water in this river for several years. Severn Trent take notice, if they can manage with a dry river and not have any water restrictions I’m sure any UK water shortage is a little hyped up.

I'm now back in the safety of the hostel as I've been told not to go out on my own at night. I'm not sure why but everyone else seems to be doing the same so I guess it’s a night in for me!

I noticed a sign on a pub door that said "This is neutral territory; please leave all attitudes, aggression and weapons outside". There was also a community service announcement on TV last night asking for people not to fight in Alice Springs.

Well I made it through the night and this morning I’m off to the West MacDonnell Ranges. I'm going there with Helen who I first met in Adelaide. We visited Simpson’s Gap, Stanley Chasm, Ellery Creek Big Hole, Ormiston Gorge and Glen Helen Gorge. We came across several signs saying no swimming allowed. They looked quite funny on a backdrop of sand with no water in sight.
Tomorrow I cross the Tropic of Capricorn and head towards Tennants Creek.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb