The Aussie Diaries: Lazy Katherine


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
September 17th 2000
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to KatherineWelcome to KatherineWelcome to Katherine

It was great to sit with and learn from some local aboriginies.
September 17th: Day 2

My second day in Katherine and it ain't that bad. I just got back from sitting down and talking with three aborigine brothers. One of them even sung an aboriginal song about the white man's landing at Darwin. Very cool. They are a very laid back people. Sometimes a little frenetic as they get excited in a good way and wave their arms about. The oldest one said that Katherine was their land and that I was welcome on it. I bought them some rum and cola from the off license. I was just going to give it to them, but they wanted me to sit down and talk. It's funny the money I paid for drinks is a 1/4 of the price of the culture tour. So even if that doesn't come through everything will be all right.


September 18th: Day 3

A whole bunch of the people that I hung out with here has departed. I kind of now see what I am doing. I am trying to embrace that tropical mode that I observed in my time with the Darwin longstayers. I think it is a good use of my time in Katherine, but I still think that I will leave tomorrow. I met a cool girl from Dublin hanging out by the pool earlier. We wound up talking for a good while. Tonight, I just hung out and played drinking games with some of the people still left here. While, we played we found out that the two Israeli girls who arrived today had been robbed. Their room was the one closest to the road. That really sucks. I also took another night time swim.


September 19th: Day 4

Well, I am actually leaving Katherine today. I am surprised, but I actually grew to like it here. There was a close-knit group of us. But everybody was leaving anyway. I'm getting ready for the 16-hour bus ride down to Alice Springs. I don't know what awaits, but going by my experiences I will probably grow to feel more comfortable there as the days go on and leave with many great memories.

Damn. Just as I was packing up my stuff, the most beautiful English young girl I've seen so far in the Territory, and her ok friend, was placed in my room. Maybe I should stay...Damn.




Note: The Aussie Diaries are a XX part series. The entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-university adventure to the southern hemisphere. They are a bit on the rough side.


added october 29, 2005

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb