The Aussie Diaries: Arrival in the Center


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
September 20th 2000
Published: November 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

A Town called AliceA Town called AliceA Town called Alice

A view over the town.
Alice Springs is all right. It has everything I like, including Internet cafes, movies, and even McDonald's. So far the hostel isn't that great. The people here don't seem like my kind of people. They are all older for the most part, and seem to all be doing their own thing. So I guess this is my chance to establish a routine in a totally different environment. One that comes complete with bush flies, hot midday sun, cold night, and a desert oasis kind of environment. I don't think I am going to get the communal feeling of Katherine or the laid back feeling of Tropical Darwin. I'll probably have to wait for my upcoming outback tour if I hope to have any fun memories to look back on here. Hope the tour has some cool people.



Note: The Aussie Diaries are a XX part series. The entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-university adventure to the southern hemisphere. They are a bit on the rough side.


added october 30, 2005


Photo Extra


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Todd RiverTodd River
Todd River

You could frequently see groups of Aboriginies huddled in the shade of the Todd River.


Tot: 0.348s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 31; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb