Crocodile Country


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just outside of Darwin I stopped again at the Aboriginal Arts centre just so that I could play with the snake! I was then off into Kakadu National Park, passing through a little place called Humpty Doo. Nothing important about the place at all, I just liked the name. Jabiru is at the heart of the National Park but being fully booked up I had to stay in Cooinda.
The wet season finished late this year and as a consequence most of the attractions of the National Park are closed. During the wet season salt water crocodiles move around freely in the high waters. When the waters drop they then have to be removed from areas that tourists will be going. This process has not yet been completed so most places are still closed.

I did manage to get on a cruise boat on the Yellow Water River. The boat takes you across the wetlands. It’s amazing the area that is covered by water and in a few months time the water will have risen over 5 metres and covered all the trees. We were only on the water for a couple of minutes before we saw our first salt water crocodile. A massive 4 metre long beast sat watching us on a bank. During the trip we saw about 12 crocs and dozens of different species of birds that live in the wetlands. We then sat back at watch a beautiful sun set across the park, made even more dramatic by the smoke from the bush fires.

Many of the bush fires are caused by the local eagles. They are quite partial to BBQ lizard and snake so after taking the pickings from the bush fire they pick up burning sticks and drop them in areas that are not on fire in order to cook a few more creatures!!

Back in the hostel I was treated to my own room although I did have to share it with a gecko. I also treated myself to a rib eye steak. The first steak I have had while away and it was lovely. Pretty much the size of the cow, it was the biggest steak I have ever had.

The following morning I was heading back to Katherine.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb