Swimming With Crocodiles - Not Bloody Likely


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

To get to the east coast I have to go back to Tennant Creek to get on the Barkly Highway. I wanted to stop over in Katherine as I liked the place the first time round.
When I checked in, someone was booking a canoe for the Katherine gorge. Having managed to go the whole of New Zealand without doing this I book one too.

Up at 6.30am to get to the Gorge in time to sort out my canoe. Unfortunately they gave me one without a motor so it was going to be down to using the paddles. The instructions were go where you want to, and swim where you want to. Apparently the fresh water crocodiles won’t attack you unless you bother them. Ok so there will be no swimming just incase the crocodiles definition of being bothered is different from mine.
I spent the whole morning out on the water and although we knew there were lots of crocodiles around none showed themselves. I did manage to see several large spiders hanging over the water in their webs.

Back on dry land and for some reason I am changing my mind about the direction of travel. A whole new road leaves Katherine and it goes west!! Although when I was in Adelaide I though I would not have enough time to go west I have thought about it again and decided that I will have time. It will also mean I get to see some amazing scenery as many people and books have said that the west coast is nicer than the east. The east coast is also over populated with tourists at this time of year. So after several hours of changing my mind back and forth I finally made the decision and booked a hostel in Kununurra.

My last night in Katherine was not the nicest. An old guy checked into the room and snored so loudly that I ended up sleeping in the car. It was so loud you could here him through three walls and across the car park. While everyone found it funny to begin with it soon got impossible and irritating.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb