3 SeaDays - ship is slowing down


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
February 1st 2017
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -12.4613, 130.842

Monday, January 30

After going to bed late, like nearly 11pm, I woke up several times during the night. Glenn was sleeping so well. We just spent the whole day in our Stateroom.

We turned the TV and watched the All Star game for the NFL. It hadn't been published, but we found it. We did not even get out for breakfast or even for lunch. After the game, I took a good long nap.

We did get out of our stateroom at 5pm, to go to dinner and to see the Special show that night at 5:30pm. Very good show. Glad we got out of the stateroom. The day was beautiful as I saw a lot of folks getting a tan.

After the show, we went up to the dessert place and ran into Norma again. She also sat with us during the show.

Tuesday, January 31

I got up at 6am and went to my normal spot to do my cross stitching. Glenn joined me at around 8:00am. I did come back to the room to take a quick nap.

At 10:00am, we had a free tour of the ship. Since we are Latitude members, we could sign up for a tour to the
galley, area where they do the show, the I-95 (the main hall way through the bottom of the ship). It was very similar to the tour we had on the NCL Sun back in 2015.

There was a 1pm lecture given in the Stardust theatre. He is the "pilot" for us as we travel over the top of Australia and down near the Great Barrier Reef. He was ok. Gave some interesting information such as the Reef is 1,200 miles long.

I took an afternoon nap, then went out on the Deck 7 when we were traveling through the Straight. We saw some beautiful islands.

Glenn and I went to the Evening Show, which was music by Bert Backarack. Very good job. We had dinner in the main dining room.



Wednesday, February 1

Glenn and I went out on the deck at 5:30am to watch the sunrise. Glenn had already gone out to use the restroom someplace else. We then went down to deck 7, and I was able to cross stitch and watch folks walk and walk and walk. I did close my eyes for just a little bit. All the while, we were passing islands after islands. Beautiful morning. We even
found a rainbow.

We headed down to the main restaurant for breakfast. Julian (lawyer) and his wife Leslie found us and joined us. We talked about salvation, about ministry in the church and about the book that Julian has written. I then left for the craft class at 10am where you make a gift bag. Glenn and I returned to room and I took a nap from 11:30am - 1:30pm. Good nap. While I was napping, Glenn went to the gym to work out, then he went to deck 12 to get on the internet. At 2pm, I met Glenn in the Stardust theatre for a performance by Black Tie. These are the 2 sets of Australian brothers that do a singing and comedy act. Afterwards, we headed back to the internet room, and we got on. We checked out our options for Melbourne. Sent a real quick email to dad and Karen. We also read that Jeff Berta has passed away. We forwarded the email on to Gary.

After spending 20 minutes on the internet, we walked out and chatted with David Love. David is a lawyer from Hot Springs, Arkansas, will be cruising with us to Auckland, New Zealand. He is traveling with his brother, Rick. Both had wanted to go to the Great Barrier Reef, and since that stop was cancelled, they informed us that they are getting off in Cairns, then will go to the Reef the following day to scuba dive. They will then fly to Sydney on Sunday and met up with the NCL Star when it docks on Monday. He said that if I need to email him about changes in the itinerary for me to go ahead and they would reimburse us back. David is very friendly and we have sat near them or talk with them nearly every day.

Glenn and I went down to O'Sheehan's Bar and Grill for dinner. Since I didn't eat lunch, we were ready for the pepper steak they were serving. We had a window seat and I took lots of pictures of the small islands that we were passing by. We are very close to the Great Barrier Reef at this time and for the next 2 days.

Glenn is going to the evening comedy show. I will not. I am organizing my photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb