I haven't been sucked to death by a cane toad!! I'm alive!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
October 17th 2006
Published: October 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm here!I'm here!I'm here!

A photo to prove it! :-)
Just thought I’d best write something to let everyone know I’m still alive!!! - I’ve even put a photo of me here to prove it!

Darwin has been AMAZING! I’ve loved it here. I’ve had some very mixed experiences… from urban backpacker, tented outback living to suburban resident; from being blind, partially sighted to seeing all; from being a cleaner, to being unemployable, to a receptionist and scaffolding seller!! Colourful flowers, unusual animals and new tasty foods is a good summary of the NT!

It didn’t start all that well for to my return to Darwin though, but hey things are sent to test us sometimes and we hopefully come out the other end a better person, more aware and stronger for it…

In the last week of my living out bush experience at Mt Borradaile in Arnhemland I contracted a rather nasty eye infection (ewww) which resulted in turning me blind! So it was definitely and experience coming out of the camp not knowing anyone and not being able to see! Luckily for me Katherine and Shane (a guide at Borradaile) were kind enough to take me in and look after the poor stray backpacker!! I was
Darwin Royal HospitalDarwin Royal HospitalDarwin Royal Hospital

Back into Darwin didn't start too well...
absolutely exhausted; having to take eye drops every hour for over 24hrs and frequent trips to the Darwin Royal Hospital! Trying to time phone calls home so I didn’t sound tired was quite a mission! (I didn’t tell mum, dad and Johanna until I was better!). All better now though!

I’ve been on trips to Howard Springs, Fogg Dam, Window on the Wetlands, Kakadu and Litchfield; nights out to the Vic, Shenanigans, Discovery, Duck’s Nutts and the Tap; dinner on the Wharf, at Cullen Bay, relaxing bbq’s, feasting at Mindil Beach Market (Satay Longton are the best!), Palmerston Market (the Pumpkin Laksa is my favourite here!) and Nightcliff Market; and eating more fruit than I’ve ever consumed in my life!!! - Jack fruit; paw paw; dragon fruit; mangoes, mangoes and more mangoes!!!

Oh and I mustn’t forget Clifford! He’s soooo cute!!!

Anyway… It’s my last day up in Darwin today so it started with a walk on the beach! - Thought I’d put that on just to make you which you were here instead of at work!! He! He! Off to Alice Springs tomorrow, so best go pack my bag…!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Lumpy Frog!Lumpy Frog!
Lumpy Frog!

a.k.a. Marble Frog... errrr! (but some might appreciate it!)
Pretty Flowers...Pretty Flowers...
Pretty Flowers...

It's a ginger plant!


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb