Alice Springs


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
November 3rd 2006
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Long Way from HomeLong Way from HomeLong Way from Home

15,000km from home, anyone got bus fare?
Left the boys in Melbourne and back on my lonesome again. I'm now in Alice Springs, a 2hr 40 mins flight from Melbourne, further than Portugal from London. Gives you an idea how big this country is. Stepped off the plane and was instantly hit by the heat. 35 degrees at 10am. First thing I noticed is that on every corner is an Abbo with no shoes on, weird old lot, just hang around getting pissed and thats just the children! Got my dates wrong for my flight so I'm now having to spend 6 days here before I start my trip down to Adelaide, tiny place and hostel is pretty average so not sure what I'm gonna do with myself. Also feels pretty strange to be told to check you bedding everynight for snakes and spiders and also under the toilet seat and in shoes!

First day i ended up walking to the Alice Springs reptile centre as I heard for like $7 you can hold a Python and get your photo with it. I got there, spent my money, saw the snake and shat my pants. This thing was huge, like 3 metres long and I'm told although
Kangaroo for sale!Kangaroo for sale!Kangaroo for sale!

Not really, just an orphan in a makshift pouch! Cute what...
very friendly it had hundreds of razor sharp teeth and would try and be on my face as it was the warmest part..was it fuck!!

Anyway left there and stumbled by chance on one of the best places I have ever been to. It was a baby Kangaroo orphanage. Basically this bloke drives around and finds dead adult kangaroos by the road and checks to see if the baby is still alive in the pouch. He had 5 babies in the centre and they were just the cutest thing I have ever seen. They slept in pillow cases as it was like their mums pouch. It almost put me off ordering Kangaroo steak for dinner...almost!

I climbed the local peak and had a view over Alice, it really is a tiny place with only 25,000 habitants and was very hot. Trust me to pick midday to start my walk and finish around 1pm, little silly! I cant believe I went walking, although there is so little to do here that I'll try anything to pass the time!

Saturday afternoon was action time. I did a 2 hour Quad bike safari into the Bush. I was so hot
Joeys!!Joeys!!Joeys!!

One of the cutest sights I have ever seen! All orphans found in the pouch of their dead mothers
in the boling sun and with a hot machine underneath me. Was amazing fun though, driving down the dried up Todd River, up river banks. I almost turned the thing over showing off to the girls, doing skids!

Anyway, a couple of great nights on the town, actually found some life in this place and I'm off on my tours. Leaving tomorrow morning for Kings Canyon and Ayers Rock.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Alice SpringsAlice Springs
Alice Springs

Tiny place!
Taipan SnakeTaipan Snake
Taipan Snake

Worlds most poisonous snake, little fucker! Apparently he is more scared of me...hmm!
Quad Bike SafariQuad Bike Safari
Quad Bike Safari

This was right out in the Bush, driving through the dried up Todd river, Great fun!
The Alice Crew!The Alice Crew!
The Alice Crew!

Matthew (french) and Carolina (German)!


6th November 2006

NT
If you can get up to Darwin its well worth the trip.... Kakadu national park and Lichfield national park are awesome, esp lichfield, some really good waterfalls to swim in (but my god there's some MASSIVE spides in the bushes...i nearly shit my pants! In Darwin itself Mitchell street is the place to be...the melaleuca backpackers resort is awesome. Sounds like you're having loadsa fun...beware of the redbacks, my brother saw hundreds when he was working down at Uluru...eugh!!
7th November 2006

The Snake
cant really blame the snake for being more scared of you, you are a ugly bastard!!! haha loev you you big gay snake scaring bastard! enjoy yourselve!
8th November 2006

Alice Springs
You are doing the tourism trade in that part wonders, we have now moved to a different hostel bout 15 mins from the YHA just got here so dont know what it is like but it has a bar so we just need to add some ladies and we have ourselves a party, oh yeah. Well you'll be off on more tours so let us know what happens, cheers have fun

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0798s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb