Setting forth


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, this is actually happening. Tomorrow I begin the first leg of my trip. I fly to Melbourne and spend the next week there. Hopefully in that time I'll be able to iron out some inefficiencies in my late night packing. I feel that, as I am want to do, I may have overestimated what I will be willing to travel with. Sitting here in the back room of our family home in Alice, I mull over the distinct possibility, and possible reality, that this will be my last night in Alice Springs dependant on my parents. The strange mixture of nostalgia for the times spent here, and the relief of my time having come to an end leave me feeling rather dumbstruck. I've loved it here but I can see that Alice is no longer the place for me. I may one day decide that 'Alice is not so bad' (as dad so persistently reminds me) and at another point in my life decide that it is indeed the place for me. Anywho, I'm going to pop to bed, get a good nights sleep and wake up secure in the knowledge that tomorrow will see me significantly broaden my horizons and force me, in one way or another, to gain perspective in my life in the context of a global society.

Signing off,

Tikka

Advertisement



Tot: 0.716s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb