Animal life & a new fashion statement!


Advertisement
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There are always unique things about every country and climate. The Australian outback is no exception - they have lots of little flies! Reminds me of the teesee files in Africa…aggressive little mites! They tend to swarm around your face the most. They have two treatments. One is a rosemary cream that you buy that kinda smells good but doesn’t work. Someone is making a lot of money on this cream - we were all were running around with our little jars. The other is a fly net that one wears on and over your head. At first my thought was “no way” - “don’t those people look funny! However, when you realize that no matter how much cream you put on the little creatures still swarm…one then quickly runs to buy your very own fly net because it works! I wonder if the two products are made by the same manufacturer???? They are quite the fashion statement and you can get them in a variety of colors and patterns. See my picture…I was so disappointed that they didn’t have a green one. If any of your want me to bring you back your very own just say the word!
Tyler spent most of the afternoon in the pool - we cancelled out of our afternoon tour….given we will be visiting the rock in the morning on our camels we decided we didn’t need another “walk around the rock” today. Hmmm sounds like a familiar song I once heard.
No other wildlife today (other than our pet flies.) As we head off to Alice Springs tomorrow we hope to see more of the country from a “luxury coach”! I hope it really is luxurious…we promise to report in from the road!!!
I’m hoping to attach photos of the landscape and flower! The attachment process from here only occasionally works - really slow! If you don’t see any pictures we promise to post when we get into “bigger cities”.
Tyler is great - a real trooper - doesn’t complain and is game for most any experience. He really has been a great companion.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

A new fashion statementA new fashion statement
A new fashion statement

So gal pals...what do you think? Difficult to see the wrinkles or determine how old someone is. Just could be the newest think for the 50+ crowd!
The Australian FlowerThe Australian Flower
The Australian Flower

Really pretty!
Me and the rockMe and the rock
Me and the rock

We will stop with the rock pictures....
Another view of the rockAnother view of the rock
Another view of the rock

The legends about the rock are so very interesting! Much history - it is a sacred place for the Aboriginal people!


19th March 2008

The Fly net complexion statement
One of the things I have learned over the years is never agree with any statement uttered by one's female friends, exwives or current wifes, when they ask, "does this hide my wrinkles?" I does look like you guy's are having a wonderful time. I really appreciate being included as one of your Blog reciepients. Love Grandpa
20th March 2008

Non-stop fun
What incredible journeys the two of you are having. I'll pass on the fly netting but I'd be running down to the store if I were in your shoes. I'm glad that there was a practical solution to help you shoo fly.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb