In the Red Centre


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
September 13th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I've been rather slack at updating this blog...I know. Tsk Tsk.

I'm currently in the Red Centre. Upon the suggestion of one of my favourite travel partners, I got a job working for Adventure Tours Australia in Alice Springs. I get to go on tours to Uluru (the big red rock), Kata Tjuta (36 big red rocks) and King's Canyon (a red canyon, what else?). Hey, what better way to see the country than get paid?

Upon my arrival in Darwin, which seems like ages ago, I never really imagined that I would find myself in the centre of the country. After exploring the west coast, and sitting at places like the Murchison River in Kalbarri, or on the beach at Shark Bay, or hiking through Karijini, or being rained on in the Kimberly, I had decided that I really wasn't keen on going to the east coast and sharing those sights with those hundreds or thousands of tourists. And for the same reason, I didn't imagine myself at the Rock. Why would I want to share sunset with the circus that occurs every evening at the sunset-viewing area?

Yet here I am, in the Red Centre. And
Ellery Creek Big HoleEllery Creek Big HoleEllery Creek Big Hole

A beautiful swimming spot in summer!
I love it. Despite all the tourists that magically appear at sunset and sunrise, I've managed to see some pretty spectacular sights without throngs of tourists (the obvious exception would be sunset at the sunset-viewing area at the Rock).

So I'm working as a 'hostie' for Adventure Tours...which involves preparing delicious meals (yes, I'm patting my own back, but so have many tour guides and my passengers!) and making sure the beds are made for the 3-day 'Safari in Style' tours. I've even picked up enough knowledge that I feel comfortable as a second guide, answering questions about the Red Centre. I'd love to tour guide...maybe I'll give it a go one of these days.
I'm quite enjoying doing hostie work, and it's been interesting watching the manners of some people. While I've always known that not everyone is brought up with the same set of manners, and not everyone will have the same ideas of what is polite or expected in a dinner situation, this job had really highlighted it. Even more than working in a cafe. I have found that people of certain nationalities are much more likely to pitch in and help with clean-up than others. And
Sunset on the Western Mac'sSunset on the Western Mac'sSunset on the Western Mac's

Taken from Mt Sonder Lookout in the Western Macs
some will make the polite but insincere gesture. Then there are others who simply relish the idea of someone else cleaning up. Ok, I'll stop my rant on manners...haha.

So besides observing the kitchen manners of various nationalities, I've gotten the chance to hike the rim walk at King's Canyon twice (once at sunset, which was absolutely fantastic...although the ranger didn't appreciate us being there after dark!), do a short walk in the canyon, watch rain at sunrise at Uluru, see a lunar eclipse (also near Uluru), had a loaf of bread stolen by a dingo at King's Canyon, be visited by a large herd of camels at Yulara (the tourist resort/camping town near Uluru), see massive red cabbage palms and ancient cycads in Palm Valley, watch a sunset at Mt Sonder lookout, taste some of the best coffee in Central Australia at King's Creek Station, and spot black-footed rock wallabies at Ormiston Gorge.
Not bad for 2 months, eh? To make the other tour guides jealous, I've also gotten to do the Merenie Loop four times, and the Giles Track. And went 4WDing to see some caves just outside Alice. For those who like off-road adventures and serious
Lizards!Lizards!Lizards!

A bearded dragon at King's Canyon
4WDing (four-wheel driving), Central Australia is the place to be.

So after a quick holiday to Malaysia with Dave (updates on that trip in a few weeks), I'll be back in Alice Springs in October. November promises a trip to Tasmania with Sarah, and then sniff, sniff...let's not mention beyond that. My Red Centre checklist before I go includes paying for a painting that I put a down-payment on (first major artwork I've ever purchased!!), buying a digeridoo (although they are not native to central Oz, as they come from the Top End and the Kimberly), seeing the edge of the Simpson Desert at Chamber's Pillar, visiting some more of the Western and Eastern MacDonnell Ranges, and visiting Rainbow Valley at sunset. I also hope that I get to see part of the Panasonic World Solar Challenge.

Working for Adventure Tours has been lots of fun! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Sunset on King's CanyonSunset on King's Canyon
Sunset on King's Canyon

A beautiful walk on the canyon at sunset!
Camels!Camels!
Camels!

Wild camels in front of Kata Tjuta (the Olgas)
Sunrise rain on UluruSunrise rain on Uluru
Sunrise rain on Uluru

Captured this shot at sunrise one drizzly morning
Desert ColoursDesert Colours
Desert Colours

Sunrise on a drizzly morning in the Red Centre
Another sunrise view of UluruAnother sunrise view of Uluru
Another sunrise view of Uluru

Can you spot the camels in front of Uluru?
The Big Red RockThe Big Red Rock
The Big Red Rock

Sunset on Uluru
Ormiston GorgeOrmiston Gorge
Ormiston Gorge

Another beautiful spot in the Western Macs
Fun at the MarblesFun at the Marbles
Fun at the Marbles

This is north of the Centre, but the Devil's Marbles are a neat place to visit!


19th January 2010

nice job :)
hi yea i think u have a really nice job and i would like to do the same, how did u apply for becoming a hostie? cheers, janina :)
24th January 2010

nice job :)
I just rang up the company and said I was interested, I spoke to Andy Hood (although I don't know if he's still there). I believe on the website there is a link but that will send your CV to Adelaide instead of Alice. I would try to get the Alice Springs number and talk to someone directly about the job. I know Connections also hires hosties. Good luck and have fun!!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb