Alice Springs and Uluru


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
February 24th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm leaving Alice Spings today, but I have to say I have had a great time. I think if I spent any more time here I would be a bit bored, as like Canberra, there isn't all that much to do.
Here was time for my first tour and I loved it!! Mulga's tours is fantastic andI would recommend them to anyone who wants to visit Uluru.
We did a 3 hour hike thorugh a place called Kings Canyon which was hard but well worth it for the views. As you can see from the picture I have my lovely fly net on, and that went on as soon as you woke up in the morning, and stayed on until the sun went down and the flies disappered. I have never seen so many flies in my life!
At night we slept in swags (bit like sleeping bags) under the stars. At first I was worried about the spiders and different creepy cawlies that might attack me during the night, but once I saw the millions of stars, I wasn't worried any more! I found the Southern Cross all by myself as well! the next day we visited a rock formation called the Olgas which was pretty cool, then it was off for our first real photo opportunity of 'The Rock'. Up close it is not as smooth as you might think, but it is just as red. In the evening we all watched the sunset surrounded by another couple of hundred people and then it was off to another place in the bush to sleep for the night, where I saw my first ever shooting star!
It was an early moring the next morning so we could watch the sunrise. It was fantastic because we were the only people there and we could even eat our breakfast without the flies!!
Then it was time for the base walk then the 6hour drive back to Alice. When we got back we all had a meal together in the hostel which was good.
On my last day I went to the Alice Springs School of the Air, which teaches children over a 1 million square kilometer area!!
My next stop is Perth.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb