Bike Ride - Day 8


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
December 27th 2015
Published: January 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today, we are meeting Colin who is sharing a flat with George, Emily's old flat mate. Colin has his own motorbike and is taking Melissa as pillion, Martin has a day bike hire and I have reluctantly agreed to go along. We all arrange to meet at the hire shop and I am starting to feel nervous, is this really a good idea? Nonetheless we get suited and booted and I am grateful that it is not too hot today as I am handed a massive 'bike' jacket.



Colin has suggested going south and taking the road through the National park and onto a coastal road to a nice pub! Now that I do think is a good idea only before we leave the city, we are stopped by the police for a random breathe test but a quick count to 10 and we are soon on our way.The national park is beautiful and you can smell the eucalyptus trees. We have a pit stop, take a few photos and eventually arrive at a beautiful pub garden overlooking the sea where Colin engages us with tales of his travels, (where hasn't he been?) while we wait for our food from the bbq.



This is the life, I am even feeling quite relaxed about the bike ride back - the journey here wasn't too bad although the helmet was flippin' heavy. Martin agrees the return home pit stop with Colin to be at a water point for more fish spotting opportunities and it occurs to me that the fishing rod has still not seen the light a day yet!I am not sure what happened over lunch but the ride home seemed a lot faster than the ride out and I kept shouting at Martin to slow down - apparently he couldn't hear me! Suffice to say, I was glad to get back and will be in no hurray to go out again. Melissa on the other hand loved it and admitted that she had arranged the day as much for her as for Martin. Perhaps next time, I will leave them to it but appreciate the time Colin had given up to show us around.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb