Shark spotting at Manly


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
February 13th 2015
Published: February 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday me and Kennedy got the ferry to Manly. We got some food as soon as we got there because Kennedy was starving. There was a Thai restaurant just as we got off the ferry so we went there and it was so good. I am sooooo excited for the food when I got to Thailand! we then bought snorkels and made our way to the beach. I'd never been to manly before but I instantly loved it there! There's loads of surf shops and bars and the atmosphere was just really cool; I would love to stay down there for a few days- maybe when I'm back in Sydney. We started walking round to a little cove just off manly beach called Shelley which is a good spot for snorkelling apparently. As we walked past Manly there was an announcement that they had spotted a shark and everyone should evacuate the water immediately! I've certainly never heard that before. When we got to Shelley there was plenty of people in the water so we decided that the shark wasn't going to be near us so we went snorkelling. We saw lots of different fish but after a while my snorkel mask was so tight I had to take it off because it was giving me a headache. We swam back to shallow water and then stopped so Kennedy could do her hair. She handed me her GoPro so she had her hands free but then once she was done we realised she hadnt given me her snorkel, she had just let go of it. We both tried looking for it with my goggles on but couldn't see it anywhere so we gave up and started walking back to the beach. Kennedy thought she stubbed her toe on a rock but then realised the 'rock' moved so looked down to find that she'd found her snorkel- what are the chances!

Once we'd dried off a bit we went for a walk through the trees at the side of the beach and found loads of people surfing the other side of the cove. We saw lots of lizards, one of which we saw on the wall walking to the beach which was huge. As we were walking back we could hear music coming from what looked like a stage on the beach so we went to have a look. I'm not sure exactly what was going on but I think it was just a dj playing music. We tried to find out what was happening and all we found was a poster that said music until 7 so we didn't bother staying. It would have been so cool if it was a festival on the beach though, I definitely need to do that one day. We found this cool bar to sit in and have a few drinks. We both loved it there so much we were planning on having a night in Manly on Sunday because the Surf championship or something is on so it would be really busy.

We got the ferry back just as it was getting dark so as we got back to circular quay we saw the city all lit up. I got back to the hostel about half 9, jumper in the shower and went to kitchen to grab a few drinks and meet people who were all going out. I met these two girls who were from Leeds and they were so nice, they let me have some of their goon and then said for me to stay with them all night which was cute. Loads of people from the hostel went to a club round the corner called Goldfish because we got free entry and a free cocktail. It was a really fancy club actually but it was obviously full of young backpackers. I enjoyed it for a while but because I hadn't really had chance to pre drink by about 1am I was fed up so went to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb