Surf School 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
January 8th 2009
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Surf was defiantly up today. I can not believe how much I enjoyed myself! We had our little lesson on the beach and then we were in the water. I was kind of getting the hang of it but not quite standing up. Joel came over and told me that if I needed his help he would help but he said that I was doing everything right and he would rather I do it myself for that self satisfaction thing. So I stuck at it and by lunchtime I had it, I was surfing! Woooooop!

We had a short drive to a look out point to have lunch. Whilst the “helpers” got the food stuff ready Joel and Rhys, our other teacher, took us on a short walk to a real nice look out over the sand dunes to the beach and sea.

Back to the beach and I was still as determined as ever to get this surfing malarkey down to a T. However I got a bit of a scare, one of the other girls surfed over my head whilst I was in deep water and it really panicked me. I had to get out of the water but couldn’t move. Eventually I got out and had a drink, but then I thought if I don’t go back in now I’ll scare myself out of it completely and I was really enjoying it. I headed back to the sea and Joel asked me if I was ok and the bloody flood gates opened! How stupid of me, I explained why and that it had just shaken me especially as I don’t like the sea. He was really nice and told me to stick at it as I was doing really well. He said that even though I wasn’t the quickest at standing I was the only one who was actually following the steps he told us to do and had the best “technique”. I was well chuffed. I did see the rest of the day out in the sea.

4pm came along and boy way I feeling the muscle ache by then! We were taken on a walk up to the lighthouse and it was up a steep hill, my legs did not want to climb it, the pain was burning through them. All I could think was that I’ve got to do this all again tomorrow how is that going to happen to me after that?

Back to camp and we’re having a pool party tonight, let’s see what happens there!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb