Surf School!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 7th 2009
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Its surf school day today and I have been so excited to think that I’m actually going to learn to surf. Although a little apprehensive seen as I hate the sea and the salty water bleergh.

Seen as we weren’t picked up today until 7 pm we had a day in Sydney to kill. We didn’t do too much. A visit to the Police and Justice Museum was an interesting start. I couldn’t understand why they were talking about all the grog (alcohol) makers in the area until it became clear that that was one of the major influences in the crimes going on! There was a room that held home-made weapons and they were quite scary. Weird looking knuckle dusters, walking sticks with knives enclosed within and guns that have been modified. What’s more is that these were actually used to murder people. As you can guess, after studying Forensics I was in my element, looking for trace evidence etc, just joking! Robs was a bit horrified at one of the actual police photos used of a murdered girl, I however knew it to be a quite mild one!

The rest of the arvo was spent in an internet café catching up with things and then we met Ezra for a $2 steak! $2!!!!!!!! Mind you, you didn’t get anything else with it and it cost $4.50 for a measly portion of chips to go with it, AND they didn’t cook my steak right! Ezra tells us he’s leaving Australia, I don’t know how he can do it; he’s only just got here and his visa’s still good. Turns out he’s potentially got a job interview that comes with a wink wink it’s worth coming home for. So, I don’t blame him for going, I dread to think what a farce it will be to get a job when I go home.

We say our fair-de-wells to Ezra and grab our bags to go to surf school. First things first when we’re on the bus, and that’s booooooze. Joel our teacher/driver stops and buys two crates and we all got stuck in. However booze+drinking it = toilet and we were all busting by the time we had a stop. It was alright for the boys they pulled over at the side of the road, us girls suffered! We arrive at camp late, so I had a brief social talk with people but really needed my bed. I want to be full of beans for tomorrow!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb