Temora 2003


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 22nd 2003
Published: June 22nd 2003
Edit Blog Post

22 June 2003
Into New South Wales via Albury, the weather wasn’t the best and the journey away from the border was uneventful.
At one point I stopped to photograph some interesting clouds. As I walked back to the car I noticed a small rainbow on the horizon, then saw it belonged to a much larger splash of color. It stretched across the sky in a wide ark. Rainbows don’t last long so I worked quickly taking many shots at many different focal lengths to include the newly ploughed field in the foreground. Only continuing my journey when the last frame was exposed.
Arriving in Temora, six hours after leaving Melbourne I booked into the motel and relaxed until it was time to walk across the road to the RSL for a meal.

23 June 2003
I was woken by the alarm this morning and got ready for my first day at the kindergarten.
The children arrived at nine. The staff are great in this centre and I was finished before I knew it.
In the afternoon drove west of town for thirty-six kilometres to the town of Arah Park, spent some time taking shots of the wheat silo, then went in search of good images in the main street. Finally finished up in the pub where a conversation with the barmaid gave me a better insight into county life. After a few beers I said goodbye to the lady behind the bar and headed back to Temora.
There was still some daylight left and made a return visit to the history museum. Tea again at the RSL.

24 June 2003
This morning at the centre there were thirty-four children split between two rooms and managed to finish the session around mid-day. I was surprised how the time passed so fast when I left the centre about mid-day.
The foggy weather had cleared by 2pm when the owner of the motel and I drove to the Temora Airport. Ian, my pilot checked the ultra light plane and I started to film. At this point of time it occurred to me there only appeared enough room for one in the cockpit.
I had arranged for Ian to take off, do a circuit of the airport and then land. In the back of my mind there was a need for me to actually see him fly before I got into plane. I had intended getting some “cut-away” shots for the small video that was planned. He indicated where the best spot to stand to capture the take off. Once he had a full tank of fuel the plane started to taxi along the runway. He did know how to fly because as he passed me for his take off it was right next to my position, as was the landing a few minutes later.
It was my turn to get into the plane; I squashed myself into the passenger side, making sure not to kick anything that seemed important. I was given a headset, and then instructed how to put on the seat belt. I pulled the tension very tight.
Ian checked to make sure the intercom was working then I heard him say “Clear Props” The engine kicked into life, by now I was already filming as we began to taxi down the runway. In my mind I was already editing the video, the shots I had taken would fit into the footage I was now shooting.
At the end of the runway the big numbers of “36” slid under our wheels and we stopped before gunning the engine to full throttle. By time the plane reached the position I was standing in when I filmed him taking off we had also left the ground. We climbed to 2,000 feet, visibility was poor but not dangerous at the height we were now flying.
The first part of the flight plans involved flying over the township of Temora. Now this country town is not large, it has a population of 7,000. As I looked down I saw the main street but for the life of me could not see the motel, which I wanted to film. On the second pass, more by luck then observation I managed to film where I have been staying all this week.
Although my cameras are not large there was still a problem swapping between each one in the cramped confines of the cockpit.
We next flew north of town I continued filming the flat countryside as we went. The horizon was hazy but looking straight down everything was clear including the paddocks and trees. It didn’t take long to reach the open cut gold mine, which Ian explained over the intercom that in its day it was quite successful.
We must have been in the sky for best part of an hour but it seemed to pass so quickly.
After a perfect landing, Ian and I talked for a while in the clubhouse and I learned he had only been flying since December last year. The flight was so smooth as was the take-off and landing; he certainly learnt to fly well very quickly.

27 June 2003
After the excitement of the Tuesday flight over Temora and surrounding countryside, the rest of the week was mundane. Each session at the Temora Pre-School was a duplicate of the first; staff good to work with, children were also good and leaving around twelve each day.
Afternoons were spent in the library. Evening meals at the RSL and early nights because there was nothing to watch on TV. Slept well each night. The mornings were cool but the rest of each day was good.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 88; dbt: 0.1157s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb