Sanctuary Point


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 26th 2003
Published: June 26th 2003
Edit Blog Post

29 July 2002
After a drive of eight-hundred and fifty kilometres I arrived in Sanctuary Point on the coast, south of Sydney. I managed to book into a motel across the road to the centre I was to work in for the next few days. My room looks out onto the local golf course and from my window I noticed a small mob of kangaroos grazing on one of the fairways.
After a nice meal at the bowling club I walked back to the motel. Just outside the gate a large kangaroo bounded along the street in front of me then crossed the road, almost getting hit by two cars. It then vanished into the saftey of the bushland.

30 July 2002
I decided to leave my car in the motel carpark and carry my equipment across to the centre. Bundled under each arm was my studio lighting case, backdrop, stands and of course my camera bag. It was a good centre to work in with lots of smilling children to capture on film.
In the afternoon I spent some time walking along the local beach. It was a contrast to the noise of twenty-four children enjoying there morning session.

31 July 2002
I was able to leave my portrait equipment at the centre last night so the walk across the road was a lot lighter today. The mornings are cool but the day warms up to around ninteen degrees with blue skys. Not as many children in this session and I was finished by 11.30am.
I found another walking trail following the banks of St Georges Basin Lake and managed to get some more shots.

1 August 2002
There was no need to wake early today because I had a day off. Of course I'm wide awake at 6.30am. I booked a cruise on Jervis Bay with the intentions of getting some images of dolphins. As a rule I'm not the best sailor so I was glad to see the bay carm and no wind to speak of. We didn't have much luck sighting many dolphins, when we did, the small pod often swam under the boat.

2 August 2002
I found it harder getting the confidence of the three-year olds this morning but still finished around mid-day. This was the last session for the week. Packed all my gear then took it back to the motel.
I had lunch in Huskissons and noticed the dolphin cruise was still tied to the jetty by this time it was out on the bay. I was lucky I chose yesterday to sail. While still in town, decided to visit a local musume and checked out the history and ties to the sea this town had.
After my evening meal started packing my bags for the return journey to Melbourne in the morning.


Advertisement



22nd April 2004

from a sanctuary pointer
im glad to see that somebody actually found our town and area interesting enough to be written about. Im a 17 year old that has lived in the coastal area all my life. For anybody that is interested in the area it certainly has a strong relationship with the native inhabitants (the area was once sacred) and the beautiful Jervis Bay and St Georges Basin. Having visited 11 countries (including england, france and fiji) in my short life i trully believe that my home is a protected paradise or even heaven.

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb