Day 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Wollongong
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi!

So, I'm here- sound as a pound. Its day two and I'm already in this awesome house with a few other people...but let me take you back to the beginning....

So- on Saturday Jan 20th- I got on a place to San Fransisco. It wasn't a bad flight, although the movie "The Guardian" featuring Ashton Kutcher and Kevin Costner was a bit of a let down. I transferred planes in San Fran which was totally an ordeal- I had to take a fancy train from one terminal to another. It all worked out, even though I was a bit frustrated having to go through the security check again (they make me take of my shoes which isn't nice for ANYONE)

So, I got on this huge 747 jet to Sydney and was in a middle seat 😞 It was alright though, because on my left was this woman going to sing at some hippy love conference and on my right was a cool guy going into his second year of bible college (I met 3 people going to this same bible college, but NONE going to my school, perhaps a message of some sort.) The flight was good, lots of good food. The movies were: The DaVinci Code, Little Miss Sunshine, The GridIron Gang, the Guardian, The Departed and the Queen. I slept through most of them but woke up just in time for Hellen Mirren's tour de force performance in the Queen.

By the end of it I was really tired, and smelled a little funky, but not completely rank. I got into the arrivals gate and found my ride to Wollongong. On the bus was a friend of a friend's friend named Milad- so we chatted a bit on the way here which was about an hour.

So, we got here, showered and then were off to look at apartments. There isn't a lot of fully furnished places around here, so it seemed imperative to move fast. We looked at a lot of places, but this place I'm in now is pretty amazing. The other guys seem awesome, its close to school (Uni) and not tooo far from the beach and downtown. I will let you know though.

So yeah, so far so good. Its been a bit overwhelming, but nothing damaging. This Friday is Australia day which is apparently a HUGE party in Sydney. Everyone seems to have a hostel, so I might check into that- but everyone is still in a weird "we don't really know each other very well so its weird to make travel plans together" type phase, or maybe its just me 😊 It will all work out though.

So, I'm going to grab a quick nap before heading to the pub...

Have a good one!
AK

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb