Salmonella and Dr. Salmon


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 19th 2016
Published: July 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

My morning yesterday began quite suddenly and unceremoniously around 6:30 AM, when construction commenced right outside our apartment window. Although I had been lying in bed awake since 3 o'clock that morning, the sound of clanking construction was my signal to get up and start my day. After shoving my half of a bagel into the toaster slot because it was too big (and burning it), I got dressed, got myself outside and forced myself to face the day ahead of me- although my body was convince it was dinner time rather than 7:30 in the morning.

Jasmine and I took off in search of Gloria Jean's, a little cafe similar to Starbucks... so naturally, I must have it. I settled for a muffin and an iced latte, and Jasmine caught me up on the events of the night before because I had slept through them (JET LAG IS NOT A MYTH). Soon enough, another NUin classmate wandered by the picture window of Gloria Jean's where we sat and joined us for some coffee. Our next venture was to a very nice mall, just up the street from our little coffee shop. Inside, there were loads of Oriental food places- Thai street food, noodle places, rice places, places that I couldn't even figure out what they were advertising. I stumbled upon macaroon heaven, with colors and flavors and beautiful macaroons that even Blair Waldorf couldn't resist (Gossip Girl pun sorry!). I paid for my golden brushed praline macaroon (it turned out, to my disappointment, to be stale) and just as I was regrettably remembering the vast distance between me and the nearest Chipotle, I turned to my right and behold- A MEXICAN FOOD PLACE. I was giddy with excitement as soon as I saw the word 'burrito' on their menu, and although I have yet to try this place, I remain giddy.

By 11:15 AM, our group congregated in the courtyard of our little home Urbanest, and marched on towards campus. By the time we made it to the University Sports and Aquatics Center (which is very nice), I knew something was wrong. Suddenly overcome by nausea, weakened legs and the urge to cry, the familiar symptoms of an illness I had been plagued with before took over. Over the course of the next hour, I tried oh-so-hard to convince myself that I wasn't actually as sick as my stomach was telling me I was- but oh boy did I lose that battle. After a short walk to the on-campus medical center, I found myself being tested, once again, for salmonella (I hope none of you know how tests for salmonella are done because that would be embarrassing that I just admitted that in an online blog...). My doctor's name was Dr. Salmon, and no the irony was not lost on me. Ha ha.

Half an hour later, I meandered back to my apartment tired, dehydrated, and with a bottle of anti-nausea pills and a can of lemonade in my hand (Dr. Salmon's recommendation was one part lemonade to three parts water, to hopefully absorb some electrolytes and sugar back into my body). The next 5 hours of my day were spent in bed, with the shades drawn and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince playing in my lap (RIP Dumbledore). Throughout the night, my lovely roommates checked in on me and made sure I was still alive, and I soon fell asleep around 7:30 (and missing the pregame, the bar, and the entire fun night that everyone had... thanks whatever illness I have).

I woke up this morning feeling amazingly refreshed, having slept for almost 12 hours. After mentioning Gloria Jean's in my second paragraph, I decided coffee sounded like a good idea and I packed up my laptop, tossed on my rain jacket and walked through my first Aussie rain drizzle to a cute coffee shop just up the street. I currently sit with my iced latte and "brekkie" sandwich, watching this light drizzle turn into a full blown downpour through the window in front of me... hope it stops soon or I'll be staying here for lunch, too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb